Biology My Favourite Subject || By @jaspichman125

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago (edited)

iMarkup_20210731_140548.jpg

Thanks to @steemkidss for always organising not only educative contests but also contests that reminds us of our memorable past. It's a pleasure to participate in this amazing contest. My profound gratitude goes to @ngoenyi for creating such a life changing community on Steemit platform. To fellow bloggers, thanks for always reading my posts.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH81Kf1wVvvQdLdKzdHiUfyvoqPPi4E3KEKCSrpWUAEQMBFW5Rv4pvN4tPnDagxTvrqax2ESMz9vN2vDhZBZJb7cWQMyE8Pg.jpeg

BIOLOGY: MY FAVOURITE SUBJECT

Introduction
I understand Biology as a subject or a scientific discipline that deals with the study of living organisms or life forms. It studies plants and animals including humans. Microscopic organisms such as bacteria and giant organisms like elephant 🐘 are all studied under biology as a subject. Biology also studies how these living organisms live, reproduce, their nutrition, health or disease, and how they interact with one another in their physical environment. In biology, when the word “animals” is being used, it includes humans.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH81Kf1wVvvQdLdKzdHiUfyvoqPPi4E3KEKCSrpWUAEQMBFW5Rv4pvN4tPnDagxTvrqax2ESMz9vN2vDhZBZJb7cWQMyE8Pg.jpeg

WHY BIOLOGY IS MY FAVOURITE SUBJECT

I prefer biology over all other subjects because when I was a child, I used to wonder how my parents gave birth to me. How I came into this world. I was curious as a child. Anytime I fell ill, my parents would give me medicine to take after which I had always felt better or healed completely. The desire to have answers to my questions and curiosity made me fell in love with biology subsequently.

In my basic science subject, I got to know about a subject called biology. But because primary schools don’t offer biology as a subject, I had to wait till my secondary school education.

Fortunately, I attended a science college for my High school education. The first topic in biology was “Introduction to Biology”. That was when I learned about biology the more. I also learned about branches of biology like, cytology (study of cells), ecology (study of the relationship between living organisms and their environment), genetics (studies heredity and variation) biochemistry (studies chemical components of living organisms), microbiology (studies microorganisms), etc.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH81Kf1wVvvQdLdKzdHiUfyvoqPPi4E3KEKCSrpWUAEQMBFW5Rv4pvN4tPnDagxTvrqax2ESMz9vN2vDhZBZJb7cWQMyE8Pg.jpeg

WAS I PERFECT AT BIOLOGY AS A SUBJECT? WHO HELPED ME?

I must confess that I was never perfect or good at biology regardless of my flair for it. It was never easy to assimilate all the scientific jargons like botanical names of plants (e.g. Tectona grandis – Teak tree), zoological names of animals (e.g. Periplaneta americana – cockroach), scientific terminologies like deoxyribonuleic acid (DNA), isometric and allometric growth, thigmotropism, hydrotropism etc.

My story changed when a new teacher was transferred in to our school. He’s Mr. Achaba Daniel by name. A graduate of Biology Education from the famous Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria – Nigeria. He held a masters degree in microbiology. He was both a teacher by birth, and by profession – what a mix!

The way he taught us was quite different from the former teacher. He enlightened our dreams of becoming doctors, nurses, medical lab technicians, etc. We never joked with his assignments or practicals reporting because of his habitual flogging. Most of us disliked him for that. In fact, even me too. But the truth is, he was good at his job.

Mr. Achaba helped my overall performance in biology. I became a better biology student. Consequently, I began to get answers to some of my curiosities. The topic “reproduction” taught me the science behind my existence. Genetics taught me how and why I looked exactly like my father. I learned why I feel hungry, tiredness, and the significance of my finger prints.

MR. ACHABA, THE TEACHER THAT TAUGHT ME BIOLOGY WAS MY FAVOURITE TEACHER.

Mr. Achaba has not only taught me biology, but also discipline. One of the things I lacked as a child was discipline. But the whole narrative changed when Mr. Achaba came to our school. He with the other teachers formed a strong team and imposed discipline on us. No more late coming to school, attendance was compulsory for night preparatory classes. I’ve gone on to be a graduate and currently a biology teacher due to the impact of Mr. Achaba.

He influenced my life positively in almost all ramifications, therefore, he was my favourite teacher.

HOW I WILL HELP A CHILD AROUND ME WITH THE KNOWLEDGE I GAINED FROM BIOLOGY

1.I am currently a classroom teacher. That gives me the opportunity to impact little children with my knowledge of biology. I’ll make sure to be as good as my biology teacher as I teach my students biology. The photos below shows how I taught my students how to carryout biology practicals with the light microscope.

While I was setting up the microscope. I supposed to do the practicals inside the biology laboratory, but the light intensity there was very low to help us view the specimens using the light microscope 🔬. As the name implies, it uses light to magnify tiny objects or organisms.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH81Kf1wVvvQdLdKzdHiUfyvoqPPi4E3KEKCSrpWUAEQMBFW5Rv4pvN4tPnDagxTvrqax2ESMz9vN2vDhZBZJb7cWQMyE8Pg.jpeg

Location Chinedu, one of my students observing the specimen with two other students posing for the picture.
Ifeanyi, observing the specimen under the microscope with Chinedu and Iro posing for the picture

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH81Kf1wVvvQdLdKzdHiUfyvoqPPi4E3KEKCSrpWUAEQMBFW5Rv4pvN4tPnDagxTvrqax2ESMz9vN2vDhZBZJb7cWQMyE8Pg.jpeg

**2.**Biology deals with the study of good health. I’ll make sure I don’t engage myself in smoking, drinking, alcohol or drug abuse. This decision has made me not only a good teacher, but also a role model to my students. **3.**I’ll also make out time to attend to questions from my students in school or when school is not on session. This will enable me to teach them more than just what I teach them during classroom lessons . **4.**Holidays lessons is one of the things I also carryout to help children gain more knowledge about biology.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH81Kf1wVvvQdLdKzdHiUfyvoqPPi4E3KEKCSrpWUAEQMBFW5Rv4pvN4tPnDagxTvrqax2ESMz9vN2vDhZBZJb7cWQMyE8Pg.jpeg

CONCLUSION

I have a flair for mathematics as a subject. As I am writing this post, I have 3 maths textbooks close to me. I like juggling figures. I consider solving maths problems as a game. Anytime I am bored, I’ll just open my maths textbooks and solve as many equations or questions as possible. That’s how I refresh my memory sometimes.

But no subject has taken the place of biology as my favourite subject. It has made to understand many things about myself, the environment I live in, why I don’t look like other people around me. Biology made me understand how drugs abuse affects one’s health and lots more.

The knowledge I gained from biology is massive! I cannot help but tag it as my favourite subject.

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH81Kf1wVvvQdLdKzdHiUfyvoqPPi4E3KEKCSrpWUAEQMBFW5Rv4pvN4tPnDagxTvrqax2ESMz9vN2vDhZBZJb7cWQMyE8Pg.jpeg

Thanks for reading through my post. I hope you liked it?
I invite @elshani, @hellgda, and @peterabagi to subscribe to SteemKids community and also to participate in this amazing contest.

:::::::::::::::::::::The link to my achievement 1 post::::::::::::::::::

https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@jaspichman125/achievement-1-post-new-users-introduction-jaspichman125

Sort:  

Love your write-up.
Though ain't offering biology yet I've developed much love for it

Biology was an interesting subject back in school then, and even now as a teacher. I hope your love for it will drive you to start learning biology. Thanks for stopping by to read my post.
Best regards.

 3 years ago 

Hello @jaspichman125 thank you for taking part in this contest, and sharing your favorite subject with us, I must say your biology teacher taught you well, and you become like him. Continue posting your quality contents here, we appreciate you 💕

I'm pleased with your kind remarks. Thanks for taking the time to read through my blog.

 3 years ago 

You're welcome 🤗

So mathematics is like a game to you? Na wow. You are better than me

Hahaha. Yeah.
I'm not a guru though, it's just that I have a natural flair for it.

I like solving problems and mathematics have enough problems to be solved.

 3 years ago 

It seems that people in your country like more biology and scientific things that have to do with life. :D I never liked biology although we did do some fun experiments in the lab. Thanks for participating dear.

When we were kids, we wanted to be doctors, nurses, engineers, etc. That was what spurred our interests in science subjects or courses.

Thanks for stopping by to read through my post. Have a great day

I had some concerns about my ability to complete this biology assignment on my own due to my limited knowledge and experience in this subject area. However, I am happy to report that I was able to find a reliable writing service that helped me complete this essay. After conducting thorough research and reading https://alltopreviews.com/services reviews, I decided to choose a writing service that specializes in biology essays. Their team of writers was highly qualified, with advanced degrees in biology and extensive experience in academic writing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32