A Massage For My Baby

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago


IMG_20220930_135134_495.jpg
my Lil princess

I am a young mother from Nigeria, who puts to birth recently. I used to baths and carefully massage my little princess, and both of us used to thoroughly enjoyed it. Massaging a baby is a traditional practice for mothers over here in Caring for our babies. My Mom used to massage my siblings and me, and she's the one who taught me how to massage my babies.

Massaging a baby is so good! It's a way to tone up babies' muscles and make them feel relaxed, that is why babies do fall asleep after massaging. I used to sing and talk to my little princess while massaging her, and she gurgles and generously smiles back, a wonderful experience all parents need to have.

Infant massage is common in other lands, and it's becoming popular in some Western countries. for example, while chatting with one of my friends in Canada she puts to birth 7 months ago, she told me that certain medical services personnel visited her at home and that she was invited to their massaging center where she and other mothers were trained how to massage babies.


IMG_20221016_145357_530.jpg
my Lil princess

The importance of infant massage can't be overemphasized it is a pleasant, tender and subtle technique that allows parents to communicate both physically and emotionally with their baby. Massages include a series of gentle but firm touches and strokes of my baby's feet and legs as well as the back, bum, and strokes on the spinal cord, chest, stomach, arms, and face. Lastly, I used to hold her upside down, this position is good for babies too.

WHAT DOES BABY GET FROM MASSAGE?

Most important, is the feeling of love and tenderness. A newborn does not only need to be fed but babies need affection from their parents too. Since the sense of touch grows early in life, a gentle massage by a mother or father tangibly speaks this love. Both physical and emotional information can be transmitted to a baby.

Massaging can help to strengthen the bond of affection between parents and their infants right from birth.

Apart from expressing affection massage can teach babies to relax which resulted in longer sound sleep and less stress.

Massage help to tone muscles as well as regulate the baby's digestive, circulatory and respiratory systems and it also benefits Babies immune system.

Infant senses of touch, sound, and sight will be stimulated, and this encourages memory and learning.

CONCLUSION:

The value of infant massage can't be overstated for instance study shows that babies who were born prematurely but when massage could leave the hospital one week earlier than those who were not, and the massaged babies increased weight gain by up to 47% compared with those who were not. You can see with me that adults are not the only ones benefitting from good massage, babies too! Yes, it's more than just a rub for them, it's an expression of love by the warm hands and gentle fingers along with a big smile 😊.

IMG_20221210_143149_956.jpg

Dear Friends by the way, when last do you have a good massage 😉? Hahaha, and what do you think about massaging babies?

Written by:
@goodybest

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your experiences with infant massage. It is clear that you have a deep appreciation for the benefits of massaging your baby and the bond it can create between parents and their infants. The research you mentioned about the benefits of infant massage, such as increased weight gain and earlier hospital discharge for preterm babies, is very interesting and shows the significant impact that infant massage can have on a baby's development. It is also wonderful to hear that infant massage can help to regulate a baby's digestive, circulatory, and respiratory systems, as well as boost their immune system.

Good health for your's baby

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator06. We support quality posts, and good comments anywhere, and with any tags.

image.png

Curated by : @goodybest

 2 years ago 

A lot to learn from Massaging a baby. Good info to nursing mothers...

The most sensitive and interesting part..

Since the sense of touch grows early in life, a gentle massage by a mother or father tangibly speaks this love. Both physical and emotional information can be transmitted to a baby...

I will save that in my achieve, i might use it soon.

 2 years ago 

Thank you, I'm glad you find the post informative, and I can't wait for that time you will be applying the info. Hahaha 😂

 2 years ago 

@goodbest

Massaging a baby is so good! It's a way to tone up babies' muscles and make them feel relaxed, that is why babies do fall asleep after massaging. I used to sing and talk to my little princess while massaging her, and she gurgles and generously smiles back, a wonderful experience all parents need to have.

Yes, baby massage can be a very enjoyable and beneficial activity for both parent and child. It can help to strengthen the bond between parent and child, and it can also have a number of physical and emotional benefits for the baby. Massaging a baby can help to relax and calm them, as well as improve their circulation and digestion. It can also help to stimulate their sensory development and improve their muscle tone. Singing and talking to the baby during the massage can also be a wonderful way to engage and interact with them. It's important to be gentle and use appropriate techniques when massaging a baby, and it's always a good idea to consult with a healthcare provider or a trained baby massage instructor if you have any concerns or questions.

 2 years ago 

Aww I appreciate your wonderful contribution, thank you for visiting me

 2 years ago 

☺️☺️

 2 years ago 

Interesting topic to mothers and expectant mothers it will help them know the need of baby massage and probably apply it to their babies.

 2 years ago 

Absolutely! I'm glad you find my post interesting and informative. Thank you so much dear @eliany!

 2 years ago 
Club Status#club75
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI10.5
Verification date:2022-12-29
MOD's Observations/suggestionsThank you for sharing your post with us. Your doll is so pretty. I agree with you Massaging a baby is so good! It's a way to tone up babies' muscles and make them feel relaxed, that is why babies do fall asleep after massaging.

Love to doll.

 2 years ago 

Hello dear @drhira I appreciate your warm remarks, and it's good to know that we share the same sentiment. Thank you!

 2 years ago 

It is very helpful and important to massage a baby because that is the way to help strengthen their muscles. This is very interesting article

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for your meaningful contribution, and I appreciate your nice commendation💕!

I can recalled how my grandma massaged my siblings then, and I was scared wondering if they won't break into pieces, but now I know better . Thank you for the info @gooybest.

 2 years ago 

Aww 🥰 your grandma was did well, massaging is very good for babies likewise adults. I'm glad you've learn something from this post, thanks for visiting me.

This piece is full of deep things. I leant so much. Thank you for sharing

 2 years ago 

Aww I'm glad you find this message interesting, thank you for visiting me!

 2 years ago 

Oh wow! I never thought of this.
I suppose it is too late now to want a baby to massage (•ิ‿•ิ)
Great post my friend!
I hope that plenty moms read this and put it to action as interaction with your little one is so important.

 2 years ago 

Oh wow! I never thought of this.
I suppose it is too late now to want a baby to massage (•ิ‿•ิ)

I don't think so, you can do it for your great grandkids 🤔 don't you feel so?

I appreciate your warm commendations ❤️ thank you and remain blessed 💕!!!

 2 years ago 

Haha! I think I will give it a pass 😊
Happy new year!

 2 years ago 

Cute Princess of a caring young mother. Mothers will be mothers, no one can care like a mother. Your mom had good hand of massaging that's helpful for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44