"Is it Good To Be Bilingual"

in Steem Kids & Parents10 months ago (edited)

Screenshot_20231219-234528_1703026107337.jpg
source

Introduction

I've always loved languages and want to speak more than one language fluently. Even as an undergraduate studying International Relations, I studied French for two years, but you know what, I never studied French in order to speak the language. Rather, it was to pass the course as the situation was then. That was too bad.

Then, before studying French and even after, I used to desire to speak Yoruba, one of Nigeria's prominent languages. Test, I still can't speak, I only understand the two intermittently. So, if you ask me if I love to be bilingual, oh yes, I love it.

pexels-yan-krukau-8617836.jpgsource

What is your opinion about Bilingual?

Being bilingual is the ability to speak two languages fluently. I love to be bilingual. I fall in love with those who are multilingual. I see bilingualism as a tool for the user, I encourage people to learn a language other than their mother tongue.

If you're a parent Would you like your kids to learn more than a language, and if you're a kidp would you like to learn another language apart from your mother tongue?

Oh yes, I really want my children to learn other languages, not just one. That's why, apart from English, my two children understand my dialect (Oro), that of their father (Efik) and the local language spoken in our town (Ibibio). If I had my way, I'd love them to speak French and German.
If I were a child, I'd really love to speak and not only learn other languages like I have mentioned above.

Which other language(s) would you like to learn?

pexels-rdne-stock-project-8419620.jpgsource

Back home in Nigeria, I will want to learn and speak Yoruba. Internationally, I want to learn and speak French. I have an app on my phone I used for learning French. Some years back, I even considered running a French course. I honestly need to speak French as one of the international languages to be able to land an international job as I studied "History and International Relations."

What are the advantages of speaking more than a language

  1. Bilingualism gives people more opportunities. For example, there was a time I applied for a customer service representative job in one of the prominent network providers in Nigeria. Though I was qualified because of my inability to speak another Nigerian language, it denied me the opportunity.

pexels-andrea-piacquadio-927022.jpgsource

  1. It helps one mix up well with people of other tribes or languages easily.

  2. Being bilingual can save one from trouble. If you are in a place where you understand their language, it can save you if there is some sort of problem to escape without being harm.

  3. Being bilingual makes things easier for one to some extent. I remember when I went to Mali, a francophone country in West Africa. It was a bit difficult for me to transact with others because most people there do not understand English.

Conclusion

I encourage people to develop interest in learning other languages, you may not have an idea in which aspect it may be of help to you. Thank you for organizing this contest. @goodybest

@realitytrend
@bessie2023
@unyime23
What are views?

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM 2

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through Curation Team#2. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.


Curated by : @fombae

Screenshot 2023-12-12 092858.png

Thank you, so much @fombae I really appreciate.

It is really good for us to learn how to speak so many languages.

That's true, thank you for your time reading through the post.

Always my pleasure

Dear @eveetim, French and German is the other language you would love your children to learn plus their native language, it's a great wish though.

Good luck in your contest.

Yes, I just wish. Thank you for reading my post and making useful comment. I appreciate!

 10 months ago 

Thank you so much for taking part in this contest @eveetim as you rightly said being a bilingual comes with many many advantages, job opportunities and numerous others to mention. I appreciate your entry!

Thank you, it's my pleasure to air my views on this topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67751.75
ETH 2620.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72