Writing Expedition - Effects of domestic violence in children.

argument-238529_1280.jpg
Source

The Story

"Hey, Gbola. You've been moody all day. What's going on?"

"I'm very fine, Femi. Everything is alright"

"I wouldn't believe this, Gbola. Please, talk to me. I'm your friend."

"It's a family issue and meant to be concealed. Thanks!"

"Yes, I know but it's still nice to give me even a tip of an iceberg. At least, we got each other's back.

"Okay. Just promise to make it a secret between us"

"I do promise Gbola"

" Hmm! For weeks now, my father has been beating my mother. They fight always. My dad gets angry over anything my mother does. He beats her like a goat and my mother insults him back. Each day, my mother is beaten. My father does not for us and would beat us if we dare to shout or cry aloud.

Last night, he locked us up in our room and best life out of my mother. We wake up to see my mother lying lifeless. He hurriedly rushed her to the hospital seeing she was not breathing. That's what made us late to school.

None of us have eaten this morning and we don't know how our mother is fairing. I just pray she survives it.

Very soon, I will run away from the house. I'm tired of seeing my mother being beaten like a drum always.

"Ah! What has your mum done to your father?"

"I don't just know. Sometimes, my dad gets drunk and he beat her up while other times, he's in his right senses".

No wonder your performance these days is very poor. I noticed you've lost concentration in school. It's well Gbola. Everything is going to be alright. Just keep praying that your mom will be well and your father will change too. I will share my lunch with you and your siblings. Please, just be fine.

"Thanks a lot, Femi"

The effects of domestic violence to children are many.

• It leads to low self esteem
• It leads to emotional instability
• It causes a child to loose focus
• It leads to poor performance in school
• It raises children who would also live to raise such families etc.

Conclusion
Domestic violence should not be tolerated in any home. The effect it has on children and the family as a whole cannot be over expressed.

It affects the children negatively and leads to broken homes. Children at all stages should be taught about the effect of family crises as it will help reduce the number of broken homes. Let love and unity abound.

Sort:  
Loading...
 last year 

Ohkay.... Drop the link here as told

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58471.44
ETH 2587.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44