My Family Favorite Food by @ekemini01

in Steem Kids & Parents5 months ago

Hello @steemkidss community, it is a pleasure to be here again to participate in this beautiful contest by our dear moderator @uzma4882 on the topic "My Family Favorite Food". Every family has that special meal, dish or delicacy that is special to them. Most of this dishes are eaten only on very special occasions or frequently depending on how easy it is to prepare it. I will be writing about my own family's favourite food.

What's your family favorite food?

My family is made up of my dad, myself, my brother and three sisters. We come from a culturally rich tribe in South South Nigeria and are proudly Ibibio. Our favourite food as a family is afang soup. Afang is a leaf that is botanically referred to as Gnetum africanum, it is a climbing leafy vegetable plant mostly erected on bamboo sticks. It is member of Gymnosperms. This leaf is common in Africa and mostly in South South Nigeria.

Afang soup is very nutritious and loved by many, tourist who visit our state and taste this food always have a pleasant experience. It has a very savoury aroma that will make you salivate.

Which ingredients make it more Sweet, Spicy & Salty ?

The main ingredient in the preparation of afang soup is the afang leaf and waterleaf. Other ingredients include crayfish, meat, pepper, salt, seasoning cubes, palm oil, periwinkle, etc.

For our family whenever we cook afang soup with goat meat then it is surely going to heat the right spot. The goat meat flavour has a way of intermixing with the afang and giving it this awesome aroma.
PXL_20240112_155023189.jpg
Washing goat meat for cooking the afang soup

What's the reason to choose your Family Favorite Food?

The reason behind choosing afang as our family favourite food is because of my late mom whose memory I still carry in my heart.
We love her so much and she was always preparing afang for us on special occasions like when she was paid salary or when dad gave her plenty money for food. After she passed away we eat afang on special occasions and whenever we do we feel her love and are united together in one bond.
IMG-20231225-WA0024.jpg
In the kitchen with my sister @vudeme123

Share with us Selfie of your Family Favorite Food While enjoying with your family

This is the last time we prepared afang soup in our home, it was on the 12th of January 2024. After cooking the soup we made garri which is a must to eat with the afang soup. Most people prefer using foofoo or pounded yam but garri is the best for us. When we were done cooking I ate mine with my sister who is the last born. My other siblings and dad were not yet back until evening.

PXL_20240112_172137861.jpg
Eating our family favourite food with my sister

Thank you for reading my post and I hope you learnt something about me and my family. I invite @comfortpeter, @ngoenyi and @rexzitek to participate in this contest.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Sort:  
 5 months ago (edited)

Hello dear, I am also a fan of afang soup. It is my favourite, I can not trade it for anything. My Mon uses goat head to prepare it and the aroma is out of this world. Thank you for sharing your content with us. I look forward to reading more from you dearest. Best of luck in the contest.

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09


TEAM Newcomer: Curation Guideline for January 2024
Curated by - @𝗁𝖾𝗋𝗂𝖺𝖽𝗂

Note:

We invite all newcomers from 0 to 3 months of existence in steemit to use hashtags #newcomer and #country.

Loading...
 5 months ago 

Hy ekemini01 (57) You are looking good while smiling.

Thank you Samina 😊

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Loading...
 5 months ago 

Hmm the meal is nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50