**SEC17 WK:#5: caring for aged and dependent relatives in the family

in Steem Kids & Parents12 days ago

grandma-2657142_1280.jpg
sourced from pixabay

Hello steemians, it's a pleasure to be a part of this contest. I would like you to read through and comment.

Life to me seems funny; you'll see a one-time active individual becoming inactive, seeking help from others as a result of a decline in health or advancement in age.

Many psychologist have come out with their various school of thoughts about human existence and development. Every stage of human growth and development is characterized with some peculiar features and during the late adult age we would notice that this category needs much care from concerned family members and friends.
Some preferences ought to be given to the aged and dependent relatives when it comes to administering care.

My sincere apologies to those who never met their grandparents. I was privileged to meet my paternal grandparents. I must say here that I glued to my grandpa more than my grandma of blessed memories though we spent a very short time together.

Even though he was aged, he could do certain chores for himself. He wakes up by 4am or thereabout but quit early. He would shave his face, wash his lantern globe, use his chewing stick,use the toilet,sweep his apartment, take his bath during the late morning hours. These he does as a routine on a daily bases. He was a very neat old man.

china-4478084_1280.jpg
sourced from pixabay

The only help we give to him is to prepare and serve his meals at the appropriate time. Then the day he wants to wash his clean clothes, we will provide him with adequate water, he was really a water waster. I loved him because he was very neat more than everyone of us but he felt sick that he couldn't do all these things again for himself, he couldn't take his bath, sweep his apartment, he couldn't even eat. At this point he needed us most. It got bad that he couldn't talk, though he was given medications by a home nurse pending the arrival of one of his son who happens to be a medical practitioner yet there was no improvement.

Myself and other of my siblings would help to clean him up, it was quit demanding. To worsen the whole situation, my dad was down as well during this period and my mom had to take care of him were he was receiving treatment. So she did not have enough time to take care of my grandpa since my grandma was less concerned. She kept on feeding my grandpa with a particular soft drink since he had lost his appetite.

The last help I gave to my grandpa was when he suddenly got up one day to use the local rest room, he came back with lots of soldier ants on his feet and trousers, I and my siblings including my mom helped in getting them out. After that incidence, one evening we heard our grandma screaming inside his room,we rushed into the room, my beloved grandpa was gone.

man-1550501_1280.jpg
Sourced from pixabay

Taking care of someone takes time. It's wise not to consider the character of an individual before rendering the help they need from you. Why I'm I saying this?

We happen to spend more time with our grandma. She had some farmlands where she cultivates different varieties of crops for her consumption. We always assist her during farming seasons; sometimes we would help her market some of her farm produce but whenever she visits her children,she would tell them she works alone, we don't like running errands for her and this was quite disgusting. I suppose she was acting this way because my mom never subscribed to some of her opinions that were against her faith.

It's tremendously good to care for the aged and dependent individuals within and outside our family circle because one day we would grow old and might need care from others.

To all potential grandparents, love your grandchildren, don't segregate, it could escalate to future hatred. And to those administering care to people, do it with free mind not considering the character of the beneficiary.

May God give us grace to care for the aged and dependent individuals around us.

I would like @nsijoro @bossj23 and @basil20 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

Greetings my friend @dwings! 🌟 Your touching story highlights the importance of caring for our elderly relatives, regardless of their character. It's a lesson in compassion and unconditional love. All the best in the contest, success for you! 👍

 11 days ago 

Thank you

I read your grandpa story and it is so touching and emotional and I am happy that you cared him with your siblings and also happy that you got chance to spend time with him . I am sure he will bless you always.

 11 days ago 

Thanks for your comment

It is my pleasure to talk you

 11 days ago (edited)
MOD's Observations/suggestions

Thank you for participating in the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 17 in the Steem Kids and Parents Community.

@dwings, you have written well on the topic of caring for the aged and dependent relatives in our family. Everyone at some point will need this care either because of age or certain health conditions. We must care for others now so that we too will have people to care for us thereafter. I wish you success in the contest.

To properly promote your article on Twitter please use the tag #steem #steemit $steem among the first 3 tags

Club Status#club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
AI Free
#Burnsteem25
Score (quality/rules)9/10
 11 days ago 

Thanks

greetings friend,
They should have different ideas about human existence and development because care management should be left to the elderly and dependent relatives.

Then there would be an advantage and that would be to prioritize their needs. Like you, I didn't get to spend much time with my grandparents.

Thank you for sharing the nice publication with us. Wish you all the best. stay well

 11 days ago 

Thanks for your comment

Thanks for your feedback friend. I hope to get more good articles from you. I was waiting for that.

 11 days ago 

You helped them a lot until their son arrived
There was no difference even after the medicines were given by the nurse. In such a situation, he was in dire need of his family. Who could take care of them and supported them in such difficult times. Cooked his food on time, so that he did not feel weak. In today's time no one does that much for anyone. You stay happy, stay healthy.

 9 days ago 

Thanks for your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69633.73
ETH 3805.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74