A Story About Myself.

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago

Greetings, everyone.

I am using this opportunity to say a very big thank you to all the moderators of the steemkids community; you guys are indeed equal to the task. Special thanks to @goodybest; you always drop contests to keep us engaged and glued to the platform. We are grateful and wish there was a way we could pay you back for this great favor.

Today I will be writing about myself as the contest demands. I think it'd be great to get to know each other once again after our Introduction post. The mind behind this contest is a genius.

Tell us about yourself; you can write about what you've gone through as a child and adult or what you are going through now, and yes, you've had your fair share of struggles.

Snapchat-1898376498.jpg

To begin with, I am by the name of Offia David Mba. I am a Nigerian by nationality. I was born into a family of seven. I currently live with my family in Cross River State, Nigeria, but I hail from Abia State, Nigeria. I am an SSCE holder. I recently sat for my Joint Admission Matriculation Board exams. I have been offered admission, but on a different course. I am still contemplating if I should proceed or just wait for another year; waiting for a year is a long time to wait.

Forever I'd be grateful to God for giving me such loving parents; they don't have much, but they never failed to put food on our table. They made sure we ate at least three times a day, just as expected. Even when they have lots of loads on their shoulders, you won't even notice. My parents made me believe not all heroes wear capes; they are my heroes, and I am proud of them.

While growing up, I had to go through a series of ordeals because I was not born with a silver spoon, but there's one that is stuck in my head. On this one, my dad got scammed, but since my dad did not die then and my family did not fold instead, we came out strong, so there's nothing that can tear us apart. It was at this moment that I saw the definition of hardship, poverty, and difficulty.

My dad is a government official; he said he wanted to have multiple streams of income and started saving so as to start up a business. After over two years of saving, he said he has gotten the amount he needed to kick start his business. He had a friend; they were not close, but my dad trusts easily. This man imports goods from China, and he promised to carry him along once he had the money. Now is the time. My dad approached him, and they talked about how it was going to be.

The friend gave my dad a dealer's contact; they discussed, and my dad sent the man money for the business, expecting goods in seven days. Till date, we never heard from the dealer that my dad's friend also disappeared into thin air. When my dad went to his shop, they said he sold it out exactly one week ago. It was all planned.

That was 2017, and my family began to suffer serious hardship. The story is long, but I just have to cut it short.

What are those things that bring you down sometimes, and how do you normally pick yourself up?

IMG-20220222-WA0007.jpg

Most times, the fear of not achieving my dreams tends to put my back on the ground, thereby causing me mood swings. Each time I look around and see how things are going, I wish I could just give up on life. Sometimes my mom says I am too young for that kind of thinking, but the truth is I overthink.

I normally pick myself up when I remember that I owe my parents everything—the good life, the luxurious life they deprived themselves of just to see to it that I get everything I need. My parents are more like my source of motivation.

What keeps you going, and what message do you have for us?

IMG-20220222-WA0006.jpg

Very few things keep me going; it has not been an easy journey, but I am still pushing and hoping that one day everything will fall into place.

  • God's Grace: I was raised by Christian parents, and they taught me to always put God first; if he goes ahead of you, then there's no way you are ever going to fail.

  • My Parents: Just like I said before, my parents are my source of motion; without them, I wonder what my life will be like. Each time I remember I have parents to make proud, I get up from where I must have fallen and continue my journey.

  • Determination: This is another thing that keeps me on track; without determination, it is very difficult to achieve your goals. Determination goes hand in hand with hard work.

Dear friends, just know it's easy anywhere; just keep pushing, and at the appointed time of God, your story will change. They always say God's timing is the best, and I have never doubted that.

I am inviting @aaru, @kyrie1234, and @preye2 to come participate in this contest. All images are mine.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Dear @david-o thanks for taking part in my contest and sharing your life experience with us, truly it's not easy anywhere but we just need to keep on pushing and we'll over come all our problems with God's Grace. I wish you success!

Club Status#club75
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI18.6 ( 1.20 % self, 156 upvotes, 91 accounts)
Verification date:2022-11-22
MOD's Observations/suggestions
hello @david-o , thank you for providing quality posts in the Steem Kids & Parents community, you have good interpersonal skills, keep working and never give up, I hope you always in success 👍
We invite you to support @pennsif.witness for growth across the whole platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Click Here
 2 years ago 

Thank you for inviting me...

Nice entry my friend, you've really written well
I wish you luck in the contest 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69557.92
ETH 3792.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52