Food challenge contest week #105|| For kids and parents| Plantain and Beans Porridge

in Steem Kids & Parents4 months ago (edited)

Hello, Steemians from all over the world. Greetings to you all. I trust you all feel blessed and super fantastic.

I'm excited today to tell you about one of my favorite dishes and how to prepare it. I'm talking about plantain porridge. It is a combination of unripe plantain, beans and vegetables.

Introduction

I have been craving for plantain porridge for a while now, but because of how expensive plantain is now, I have been avoiding it. Today, I decided to cook it no matter what. My initial plan was to cook only the unripe plantain with vegetables. But when I purchased the plantain. I noticed it was small. So I added beans to it which is also a perfect combination to increase the quantity of the food and more nutrients too.

IMG_20240318_161206_406~2.jpg
Plantain porridge with beans

Ingredients Needed for the meal

  • Unripe plantain

  • Beans

  • Fresh vegetable(pumpkin leave or scent leaf)

  • Crayfish

  • Pepper

  • Seasoning

  • Salt

  • Onion

  • Red/palm oil

  • Water

PROCEDURE

  • I started with separating the plantain from its peel.

IMG_20240318_142354_111.jpg

IMG_20240318_141911_046.jpg

  • Then I cut the plantain into tiny pieces. I did this by first dividing it vertically in four places, then I used my knife to cut it horizontally into sizable bits. I kept it aside when I was done.

IMG_20240318_143416_287.jpg
The cut plantain

  • Then I brought out my beans and removed
    the chaff and bad ones. When I was done. I washed it 3 times in water, added it to an empty pot. I Added water and placed it on the gas for cooking it to get soft.

IMG_20240318_144859_108.jpg
The beans inside pot with water

  • When the beans became soft, I added the plantain I had cut earlier into the pot of beans.

IMG_20240318_154455_089.jpg
The beans and plantain inside the pot

  • Some more water was added too just to the level of the content in the pot.

  • When it started boiling, I added salt to taste, seasoning, pepper, crayfish and red oil to taste. I stirred very well and allowed it to cook so that the plantain would soften. Let it cook for like 5 minutes or more.

IMG_20240318_155407_768.jpg

  • I added the vegetables last and stirred it, I also brought down the pot almost immediately to allow the vegetables to still be fresh.

Then your meal is ready to be served hot or cold.

IMG_20240318_161206_406~2.jpg

BENEFITS OF THE MAJOR INGREDIENTS

Plantain is a very good source of potassium and magnesium which is very good for our heart.

Beans are a source of protein which is good for the growth and development of our body. Proteins are good for tissue repairs.

Vegetables

Vegetables are really good for our health as they contain vitamins and minerals. It helps to reduce blood pressure and risk of heart disease.

Thank you very much for reading my food diary.

I invite my friends @aspiya @pandora2010 @saintkelvin17 @samuelernest and @zkanem to join me in this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71