WHAT'S THE BEST WAY TO DISCIPLINE A CHILD

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago (edited)

Hello kid lovers..... It is great getting to participate is this great contest.
Thanks to @steemkidss and @ngoenyi for putting up this contest.
Today I will be talking about the best way to discipline a child.

images-15.jpg
image
First, what is discipline?

"Discipline means a controlled behaviour or self control. A punishment to train or maintain. An enforced compliance or control."
~New Oxford Learners dictionary

Spare the rod and spoil the child.
~NKJ Bible Version

  First of all, understanding the child is very very important in disciplining a child because what might work for child A might not work for child B. 
Discipline is very important in every child's life as it paved way for a better future because it's whatever, you teach a child is what he or she will grow with. 
There are various ways, a child can disciplined without spanking or beating the child.
  1. REWARDING GOOD BEHAVIOUR
    Rewarding a child for his or her good is very important. For example; If a child fights with his or siblings or neighbors children often, set up a reward pattern or system to motivate them to get along better and be friendly to each other. These rewards will help the child to always what to do things that will earn the privilege and thus, preventing bad behaviour.

images-16.jpg
source

  1. PRAISING A CHILD FOR GOOD BEHAVIOUR
    A situation where there are plenty children in the room praise your child your putting up good up good behaviour, and this will boost the child's self esteem. For example, when they are in the room together and playing nicely with other children, you say to the child "you're doing well and taking turns today.

  2. LOGICAL REPERCUSSIONS
    This is another way to discipline a child. Logical repercussions are specifically tied to the misbehaviour.
    For example, if a child refuses to eat their lunch, don't let that child have their afternoon snacks like biscuits, chocolate, sweets etc. Or if they refuse to do their house chores, don't let them play for the day, with this, linking consequences or punishment directly to a particular misbehaviour, this will make the child see that for every misbehaviour, there's a direct consequence.

  3. NATURAL CONSEQUENCES.
    This kind of discipline allows a child to learn from his or her own mistake. For example, you tell your child to wear a pullover or jacket before he or she goes to play outside, then the child refuses to bid to your advice or warning, what you do is to allow that child go and play, by the time, the child starts catching cold and start taken drugs and injection, that particular child would learn from his or her mistake. You apply this type of discipline, as long as it's safe to do it, or if you have the heart to.

  4. TEACHING NEW SKILLS.
    Another way to discipline a child to teach new skills on how to solve problems, compromise and manage emotions. At times, we parents should use discipline that's aimed at teaching the children and not punishing the children.

    My parent discipline for me still remains in me. I'm 24 years now but I still see myself doing those things my parent told me to do that was right and also not doing the things my parent asked me not to do. Like, my mom doesn't like me associating with people,she always wants me at home, though, it was because of the environment we where living then, so many corrupt children, teenagers getting unwanted pregnancies, etc. I grew without having a friend around except when I go back to boarding school. That way, whenever I want or wanted to choose a friend even up till, I will have to monitor to see if she does things my mom warned me against before we become friends. Also, I hardly go out, that's because my parent don't allow me go out, it has affected positively in recent times and have saved me from danger.
    My mom does beat the living hell out of me while growing, at one end, it helped me but at the thought, I feel there were some things she does beat me for that she should have sat me down and adviced me on. I had a mom who doesn't advice, she beats me at any slightest provocation.
    Moreso, I had a very stubborn cousin, the mom beats her every time she offends, to the extent that my cousin will deliberately commit an offense and tell that after all, they will only beat me. Now, my cousin is already used to her being flogged, which is very bad.
    This days, beating a child as a way of discipline is not the best at allow. It will allow the child to get use to beating and it can lead to disrespect.
    I invite
    @boobee
    @chocolatebrown
    @ruthjoe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94