The Diary Game || 4-12-23 || Carrying Out an Experiment on Chemical Thermodynamics

in Steem Kids & Parents9 months ago

PXL_20231204_141504272.PORTRAIT.jpg
in the health center with Friends

Dear Diary,

It was another stressful Monday. This particular Monday was one of a kind because for the first time my stress took over me, controlling my thoughts and the way I responded to things. We carried out an experiment in the laboratory on the Chemical Thermodynamics experiment. After this experiment, I prioritized a meeting that was of benefit to me asides money. Want the narrative? I'll spare you.

Morning Routine

It was a Monday morning. Mondays are always brain washing days for me. I wish Monday doesn't come but I can't cheat nature. I just had to face it. I can't remember waking up. All I know was that I was on my reading table throughout the night, trying to figure out a term paper assignment, a project, Presentation and lot of assignments all in one day. I knew very well that I had a long and stressful day ahead so I had to plan so I'll not end up regretting.

I did the needful that morning in terms of chores, examining the scriptures and then heading for campus that morning. I didn't forget my lab cost and practical manual as they both are very important. It's interesting to know that I got quite early to school. Another level had their practical as early as, so we just had to wait. The picture below shows the department having their own practical.

PXL_20231204_094044638.PORTRAIT.jpgAnother department having practical class

When it was our turn, I took to capturing a moment, a very important moment which is the Department of Chemistry. This is the most feared department on campus as a science student, not because the course is difficult but it's too complex. Assignments upon practicals, upon outside laboratory work and the likes of them makes it even more stressful. The department as a whole is after our lives.

PXL_20231204_102223048.PORTRAIT.jpg
Department of Chemistry

In the Organic Laboratory

We got into the laboratory with our laboratory coat, gloves and face masks as that was the instruction given. I entered the laboratory with confidence that I was ready. I expected something easy today but the laboratory attendant was a sign that the practical won't go well. These are the apparatus she brought to the laboratory consisting;

Improvised calorimeter and measuring cylinderPXL_20231204_102922131.PORTRAIT.jpg
Thermometer and StirrerPXL_20231204_111644580.PORTRAIT.jpg
Unknown AcidPXL_20231204_102940175.PORTRAIT.jpg
TotalPXL_20231204_102909966.PORTRAIT.jpg

After these apparatus were brought into the laboratory, the laboratory gave us instructions on how we would carry this practical out. I followed her carefully to observe changes involved. This is a picture of men inside the laboratory with my gloves. I grouped my coursemates and I into a group of 10 of which we later went to collect our apparatus.

PXL_20231204_111631907.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20231204_112537947.PORTRAIT.jpg

PXL_20231204_104112867.PORTRAIT (1).jpg
picture of me in the laboratory

When we collected our apparatus, we kickstart the practical as we were to carryout trials for 5 times, checking the temperature of the water in the calorimeter, the temperature of the water when the acid is added to it and then change in temperature. The lab was very rowdy and we had limited unknown Acid and measuring cylinders. So we took turns.

PXL_20231204_112825655.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20231204_112909374.PORTRAIT.jpg

When it was my group's turn, we measured 95cm of distilled water into the 100cm measuring cylinder and then emptied it into the calorimeter. The temperature was taken to be 28°C at first. We did for water and acid and the temperature was found to be 44°C. We did this 5 times using different measurements for both water and the acid.

PXL_20231204_112926328.PORTRAIT.jpgPouring the measured acid into the calorimeter of water
PXL_20231204_113107287.PORTRAIT.jpgChecking the temperature of acid and water

When the water is measured using the measuring cylinder, we'll pour it into the calorimeter and then take the temperature. We'll then add the subset of our measured value for water for the acid and then pour into the calorimeter of water. After adding, we'll stir it and then find the temperature which would be recorded. We did this for 5 good times before leaving the laboratory.

PXL_20231204_114922250.jpg

As the practical was ongoing, other groups were struggling for these liquids to be first. While they were struggling, one of my coursemates mistakenly ran in the careless behaviour of a girl holding the concentrated acid in her hand. The clash made the acid pour on the guy, burning his own skin and laboratory coat. It peeled his skin immediately but was coated by the laboratory attendant. They applied Vaseline to the burnt area to coat so as to avoid further tear of the guy's skin. This is the coated hand.

PXL_20231204_114326848.jpg
picture of the acid burn

The guy left what he was doing and headed for the health centre to receive further treatments. One of my friends accompanied him while we focused on completing the practical in person. When we were done, my friend and I headed for the health centre to see how the affected person was faring. We met him better than before. He was properly taken care of no doubt. We took pictures..

PXL_20231204_135841962.PORTRAIT.jpgPicture of the affected guy and his friend
PXL_20231204_140038454.PORTRAIT.jpgPicture of the dressed burn
PXL_20231204_142210029.PORTRAIT.jpgPXL_20231204_140614043.PORTRAIT.jpg

We left the health center in no time of which my friend and I headed for home. It was then I remembered that I had a presentation to make for someone. My time varied badly as I had an important meeting to attend. I had to disappoint the guy of which I told him earlier it would be 50/50. I left campus despite his urge to pay me handsomely. The meeting was more important than the money at the moment.

During the Meeting

I arrived early for the meeting despite my busy schedule in school and that was probably the first time I go there so early. I learnt a lot from the bible though one of which was the fact that counsels without proper basis can be very dangerous. After the meeting, I was kind of refreshed more than how I felt when I was in school. I got home with the mindset that I would have another milestone to accomplish which kept me up till 3pm.

Truly, the department is after my life

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

TEAM BURN

Your post has been successfully curated by @kouba01 at 35%.

Thanks for setting your post to 25% for @null.
We invite you to continue publishing quality content. In this way you could have the option of being selected in the weekly Top of our curation team.

Team Burn (1).png

Burning STEEM by sending it to the @null account helps reduce the supply of STEEM and so increase its price.

@bossj23 Asslam o alaikum dear how are you,
The inclusion of images not only adds a personal touch but also allows readers to immerse themselves in the environment you navigate daily. The portrayal of the Chemistry department as both feared and challenging resonates with anyone familiar with the demands of scientific studies.

As you entered the Organic Laboratory, your confidence and readiness were palpable, creating a sense of suspense for the unfolding experiment. The unexpected challenges posed by the laboratory attendant add a layer of realism to your storytelling, emphasizing the unpredictable nature of academic pursuits.

Your ability to convey the complexities of your academic journey with authenticity is commendable. It's evident that your diary entries serve as a relatable window into the life of a determined student. Keep sharing your experiences—it not only provides valuable insights but also fosters a connection with readers who share similar academic endeavors.
best wishes for extraordinary journey✨

 9 months ago 

I really appreciate this comment. Think this is one of the best. Thanks for adding value to my post

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59032.15
ETH 2518.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46