Unforgettable Punishment

in Steem Kids & Parentslast year

INTRODUCTION

Getting beaten by someone who will in turn apologize, pamper, and care for you is one thing we the African children are so used to (lol). Imagine your parents beating the hell out of you and still cooking for you to eat. Asking if the portion given is enough for you. Our parents are just the best. And only an African child can relate to this.

girl-2480361_1280.jpg
pixabay

Getting beaten by my mum for disobeying my elder sister

It was when I was still at home with my sister. Also In a family where one is smarter than the other and likewise intelligent, it seems that the love is one-sided. On that very faithful Saturday afternoon, my sister and I fought because I was asked to do a chore which I refused. Although our parent has instructed me to stay obedient to her at all time as my elder sis, we have to rub our shoulder as girls you know.

My mum came back and my sister reported me to her, and I was beaten like I came to steal a goat in Nigerian movies (lol) I was beaten to the point I started thinking if these people were my real parents (hahaha). I felt disowned. I know my mum to be a happy woman what happened, maybe she had a bad day she had a bad day and the whole anger landed on me.

Because I was a kid who was unable to express herself, my older sister always had an edge with expression. She can talk more within seconds. I felt cheated. I felt terrible and refused to talk to her for weeks. The more I see the marks from the flogging, I begin to tear up and think about my life, singing sympathetic songs that would even make me cry more. The worst part is that I sang the song in my dialect (lol)
It made me a better person.

girl-5966882_1280.jpg

pixabay

Getting beaten for fetching water from the well

Well while growing up there were a few things we did with our mates because my dad was so strict that we didn’t play like kids. What other parents allow without second thought my dad will deeply scrutinize. He told us never to go close to the well in our compound and not to fetch water for the house or anybody in the compound.

That faithful day, Dad didn’t come back on time so we saw our mates fetching water for their house we thought of joining them to fetch for our house too. We finished fetching, trying to clean ourselves when my papa came back.

Conversation between Dad and us

Dad: why are you people so wet?

Me and Frank: we went to fetch water

Dad: from where? Borehole?

Me and Frank: No, from the well.
We were even excited, my dad’s countenance changed immediately
My dad went outside and brought blocks from an uncompleted building and the Rim of a car tire and asked us to kneel and hold the block and tire up in our hands.

That day me and my bro see heaven come back. We carry block till blood no dey our hand again (lol). Till we clocked 20 years old we didn't have any business fetching water from the well.

cry-1580550_1280.jpg

pixabay

Beaten for drinking my brother's blood tonic

All my childhood punishments are very funny to me because how can a pretty girl like me be so stubborn? I have a younger brother whom I'm like 10 years older than. My mum left him one day with me to care for him while she went quickly to the market to get stuff for the house. As the big sis, I have to do my duties diligently. I was not asked to feed him, I was not asked to give him his drugs, I was only asked to back him to avoid him crying. Omo, I just brought out his syrups, gave him his portion of the blood tonic, and I drank the rest. Blood tonic that my mum got 2 days ago. I added water to the bottle and kept it there. How can I be doing big sister duty without blood, I'm stressing please (hahaha)

After 2 days my mum bath my brother and asked that I bring his syrups omo There my mind told me I was in for the worst
She brought out the syrup and saw that there was water, she already knew who was responsible. She didn't say anything till 4 am the next morning and my mum used slippers to wake me up. She also used in and before I forget, it was during Hamathan season and you know how painful it used to be that period when someone hit you.

If not that I'm adopted by these people how can my parent flog me like a thief I was tempted to ask my dad if I was their child, because as small as I was I knew what it is like to be broken (lol)

baby-1151351_1280.jpg

pixabay

Conclusion

Our Childhood punishments are not because we are not loved, they help us become a better person for ourselves and our child yet unborn. Some people can't relate to this but are still of good behavior but the part of the world where we grow up sparing the child is spoiling the child

Thank you for reading my story, i look forward to reading your experiences too. And thank you @drhira for bringing this contest it reminds me so much about my childhood.

I'm inviting @emmy01,@emmyjnr and @bossj23 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

This post has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.



Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For October 2023 Curated by - <@goodybest>

Note: Engage with fellow users, comment and upvote at least 10 different authors daily.

We invite all newcomers from 0 to 3 months of existence in steemit to use hashtags #newcomer and #country.

Thank you☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64