NGOENYI CONTEST #17||LETS TALK ABOUT SUMMER SEASON IN YOUR COUNTRY, WHAT IS IT LIKE? By @benton3 10% payout to steemkidss|

in Steem Kids & Parents3 years ago (edited)

Good day my friend's, hope we are doing great. I am happy to be with you all once more.

Today, I am participating in the contest hosted I'm steemkids by @ngoenyi. The contest topIc is LETS TALK ABOUT SUMMER SEASON IN YOUR COUNTRY, WHAT IS IT LIKE?

Introduction

There are various seasons that abound in several places. These seasons ranges from winter, autumn, summer, dry season, rainy season, etc., depending on your location.
In the region, where my country is located,some of these seasons are not applicable to us.

I am from Nigeria, located in western African. Living in the south-south zone of the country, our season are basically 3. They are

° Dry season

° Rainy season

° Harmattan Seasons.

Harmattan Season

image.png
source

Like I earlier said, there is nothing like summer in my place. However, what we have that looks like summer season is our Harmattan Season.

The Harmattan season occurs in Nigeria between the months of November and Early January.

It is normally dry and dusty and misty early in the morning with very cool breeze at the same time.

It is a season that many people look forward to in my locality because it comes with several vibes.

Right from when I was a child, there are fond memories of the Harmattan Season.

What are some of the characteristics of this period

∆ For so many years, it has proven to be a time for holidays. Schools are usually closed for the section during that time, thus so many kids will be at home.
For me, most of the period, we travel to the village where we enjoy wonderful bonding with my grandparents.
They gather us the grandchildren and will be telling us folklores while under the Star-apple tree in the night. But everywhere will be litted up by the full moon.

∆ There was a Huge Star-apple tree in our compound which yielded fruits during that period.
The Harmattan is synonymous to being very breezy.

So as kids, we normally gather around it, waiting for the breeze to shake the tree, which will make the ripe ones to fall down on its own. Then we will rush and pick it up and start eating. It was fun and we really looked forward to it every year.

∆ Most businesses are shut down by that time as they close up and take some break from there daily hustles. So it provides an opportunity for people to visit friends and even meet those they have not seen for a long time.

∆ Due to the breezy nature of the season, night sleep is always refreshing since the air is cooled down. But one thing I don't like about it is that the season breaks our lips, so there is always need to apply lipgloss of Vaseline on our lips.

∆ Another scary thing about this period is that many feel they should make more money in order show off, when they travel. This desire leads them to commit many evils that will hunt them later.

∆ Parents tend to have more time to spend with there children, since they will be home most of the time.

Conclusion

Harmattan season as it is in my area is being expected by many persons. So many enjoy the crispiness of the breeze during that time. For me, I have many good childhood memories.

Unfortunately, presently most of the things that make that time unique is rarely found or done again. For example, the huge tree which is a source of fun have been uprooted due to enlarged population.

The folklore time enjoyed have been taken over by television viewing, internet video and film watching and excessive phone chatting by young ones and parents as well.

I look forward to having a time when I will enjoy the beauty of nature once more during that time.

Great thanks to @ngoenyi for making this contest possible.

Great to announce to all that I have officially become a dolphin with my last power up.

Kindly see the post link below.Dolphin post

I am also a member of #club5050 club.

Normal transfer = 115 steem

Transfer to vesting = 355.898

I invite @fortwis09, @eliany and @goodybest to participate in this contest.

Thanks all for going thru my post.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hello brother I really enjoyed reading through your post, you've describe harmattan season so well, you just bring back my childhood memories and they're some folklores I couldn't forget easily. Thanks for sharing with us.

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much for taking part in this contest that I organized. I wish you success

 3 years ago (edited)

Congratulations dear @benton3, your post has been selected as to win booming support. Keep being active in steemkids community. Please, don't fail to vote, resteem and comment on the best picks of the day.

We love 💕💕 you so much

 3 years ago 

This is wow. So structured. I love the write-up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66917.83
ETH 3499.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89