THE DAY IT ALL WENT WRONG

room-gb05a7e1e2_1280.jpg
Link

"SIFON IME WILL YOU STAND UP FROM THAT BED NOW!" that was mummy calling and I really needed this sleep ehn, because I slept late last night it wasn't anybody's fault anyway, it was mine, I just graduated from high school and I really needed to unwind, you know enjoy a bit,but mummy doesn't want to hear it, so here she was waking me up to come and help her and daddy prepare for their journey.

My name is Sifon Ime Etesin, an Akwa Ibomite, I'm dark skinned and of average height and very much on the chubby side, don't get me wrong I'm not fat just chubby, I'm the first daughter and child to my parents Mr and Mrs Ime Etesin, I have two brothers, they're twins and they're very annoying, they can be smart when they want to and intentionally act dumb, mummy would always say "These GenZ children ehn", so on that every Saturday morning I helped my parents prepare.

They were leaving for Abuja for a business conference and were coming back the next day which was a Sunday and I was to be in charge of the house for the two days, " Cee cee" that's what everybody called me for short " Cee Cee you better put what you learnt in home management to practice, cos you have a lot to do today, if you were going to a day school shey you would have learnt a lot from me, I better not come back and see this house in a mess, cos you won't like me" mummy said as she gave me a list of what to do that day,after getting the list from her I replied " mummy relax , this baby girl has got everything under control" I was grinning from ear to ear " my friend shift lemme pass, controller" mummy said and then we both laughed.

Mummy was so against me going to a boarding school as it was all daddy's idea and I loved it I was more of a Daddy's girl than mummy's. After seeing my parents off and saying our goodbyes and " buy something for me oh", I went inside and woke my brothers up and made them have their bath, I picked up the list mummy made for me I hadn't gone through it yet, so I opened it and the list was long , I was to wash the dishes, wash mummy's clothes, iron daddy's clothes, weed the garden, make lunch ,which meant I had to boil rice, since mummy already made stew and take care of my siblings who were annoying and troublesome, oh! I had a long day of work.

I had to do something about the list, I had an appointment with my TV by 3 o'clock , my favourite soap opera couldn't be missed, definitely not by me. So I came up with a plan, well that was after I called Halima my best friend.

Halima is a Muslim girl I love so much, one think about her I love is how devoted she is to praying and her very significant hijab, at some point in school I told her I would love to be like her and she said "Ceecee you don't wish to be like somebody, you pray to be better", she often sounds like a very wise prophet, after the call to Halima I came up with a very cunning but brilliant plan, I mean what is the harm in doing multiple chores at once, I had everything under control, or so I thought. I had been taught home management in school but there was no topic on 'How to take care of the house and two wahala siblings' .

I had deviced a means and I was going to carry it out, after feeding and dressing my siblings up I began work and by this time it was already half past eleven, if mummy was there she would say I'm slow an lazy , and I'd argue with her that I was just taking my time to work, slow and steady wins the race right?.

I started washing the dishes and decided to wash mummy's clothes at the same time, I also started making lunch so I put rice on fire and went back to washing plates and clothes, at intervals I went to check the rice, I had no issue with my brothers because they were playing with their building block s, just when I thought about the rest of the chores I decided to iron as well, so that when I washed the dishes and clothes I ran to check the rice that was on fire and iron atleast one cloth, then everything went wrong, everything turned upside down, ah! I was done for, it felt like my whole life was upside down, guess what happened........TO BE CONTINUED

Sort:  
Loading...

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.


Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For July 2023
Curated by - @heriadi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44