Wednesday – I spy with my little eye – Mini contest (6) | Entry by @ahbaz

in Steem Kids & Parents2 years ago

InShot_20220823_085152643.jpg


Hello, Friends!
The last two week's mini-contests were really tough, I could not put a finger on the answer and I felt really sad. But I am happy that I am learning new things every week. Thank you @patjewell for this amazing contest. It is a mind-blowing one.

For this week, we are to guess something with the following clues:

CLUES:
1. It is a 10-letter word
2. It is an electronic device
3. It is made of a durable type of plastic
4. A binary code is used to process numbers
5. You have to put something in to get something out

After much thought and connecting the dots I came up with the word CALCULATOR.
The answer is CALCULATOR.

There are different kinds of calculators:

  • Abacus
  • Basic Calculators
  • Scientific Calculators
  • Graphing Calculators
  • Printing Calculators
  • Financial Calculator
  • Online Calculators

As a science student, I have had many experiences with basic, scientific and online calculators.

I started using a calculator when I was quite young. I was always fond of punching the keys of my siblings' calculator and I received a fair share of shouts and dragging as a calculator is not a toy to play with. I later became humbled and asked them to teach me how to use it properly. I was shown and this stopped the draggings.

The next stage was always using the back of my notebooks to practice calculations. By the time we were told to buy a calculator later in school, I had progressed as I already knew how to use one. I didn't have to encounter the difficulties most of my mates were struggling with.

Fast forward to when I was writing my West African Senior Certificate Examination (WASSCE). Due to the COVID-19 post-pandemic challenges faced nationwide, the WASSCE calculator which all candidates get before their examination did not get to my school on time. We, the students in the science class, had to use a normal scientific calculator as our examinations came earlier than those in the commercial class. Under normal circumstances, this would not have been permitted.

After my graduation we were told to come to get our calculators as they had finally been sent to my school, I was happy and I rushed to the school to get the KAPEK WAEC scientific calculator I was entitled to.

I still have my calculator with me and I used it when I was studying for my UTME which is usually organized by the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB).



IMG_20220823_084158~2.jpg
Features of my KAPEK WAEC calculator


I love my WASSCE calculator because it teaches one to calculate without any help or short cut and this is what I needed to study for my JAMB examination as the calculator available for the CBT test is so simple with just the basic addition, subtraction, multiplication and few other functions.

Here is my answer to the clue.

The calculator is an electronic device that uses binary code to process numbers. It works on the principle of putting something in to get out something. Just like every electronic device that works on the Garbage In Garbage Out, G.I.G.O principle. What is put in is called Input. What is received is called Output? Most calculators are made of a durable type of plastic. And a CALCULATOR is a 10-letter word.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you for sharing your quality content in our community. I hope you win this contest. Best of luck. Keep sharing quality content. Please use your voting power to support other users, you have less than 5 voting CSI. Please support other users to get support from our community.

Status Club
club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI
3.9
Grade9/10
Verification date:
23-08-22


Period of: 1 month(s)):


CASH OUTS| 000 STEEM
POWER UPs| 38.160 STEEM

20220516_232701.jpg

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much @ashkhan.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Well done on writing a great post!!!

 2 years ago 

Thanks so much ma.

 2 years ago 

Pleasure! Keep on writing good content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52