If Phones Were Humans

in Steem Kids & Parents5 months ago (edited)

tablet-314153_1920.png
source

Introduction

Hello everyone! My name is Ade and I go by the handle @adeade on this platform. I am here to participate in the discussion titled "If Phones Were Humans." There are few questions associated with the discussion which I am going to be responding to. Before I begin to give responses to each of these questions, I will quickly describe some of my keywords as they are used in this piece. Here are the keywords and their descriptions:

  • Phones: any device capable of transmitting conversations or sound in real time across distance.

  • Programming: the softwares codes that control a machine or computer

  • Internet: communication by a set of computers using protocols.

  • Download: to transfer a file into a local computer

  • Codes: these are a set of rules for converting information for another set of representation.

Having described some of the keywords, let me begin to respond to the basic question of this subject-of - discuss one by one:

Would your phones be alive today if it were a human? Give reasons for your answers.

While I was reading through the prologue of this discussion, I began to imagine if phones were slaves. To be honest, if phones were to be human slaves owned by many of us, most people would have been murderers. My reason is because we use our phones for so many purposes of which they aren't built for. For example, I know of a friend who uses his phone for internet connection on his laptop by tethering and he is always downloading very large files most of the time. For an application to function properly on a phone, the phone would read thousands of code lines per seconds. Just imagine how exhausting that would have been for a human. Now combine going through instructions ( in terms of programming codes) with internet connection protocol ( which is even more complex). I guess you can imagine what your phone goes through just for you to access your 'steemit account' on a chrome browser.

Do you give your phones rest or do you make it work 24/7?

This question is not very clear to me. Rest in what sense? If it is in terms of switching my phone off and on from time to time, then my answer is no: I can't remember any day I switched off my phone ( as at the time of writing) in the last 30 days. But if the question refers to allowing my phone to rest in terms of switching off the internet connections, then I do that almost every hour. I don't think I have ever used my phone continuously for two hours.

Describe a situation where your phone might feel happy, sad, or frustrated.

Let me refer back to the prologue to this topic where the moderator said some would use their phone to browse at 1% battery level even without any hope of charging it. I was once guilty of that accusation. There was a time I was stranded and I needed to communicate with a friend for financial support. I didn't have airtime on my terrestrial network. I had to resort to WhatsApp voice communication. This implies my internet must be turned on and my battery was at 3% level. This is the only time I can say I remember offending my phone. I knew what I was doing then was very wrong but I had no choice. The phone eventually went off while communicating with him.

What advice do you have on phone usage?

The basic or primary purpose of a phone is voice communication; every other purpose is secondary. But we depend so much on our phones to perform most of the secondary functions such as browsing, watching movies and even programming.

My advice for us on phone usage is that we should use our phones more for the basic purpose and less for the secondary purpose. We should try to be less dependent on our phones.

Thanks for reading. You are free to drop your comments.

I would like to invite @maytte, @noelisdc and @ chilwa to join the contest.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...
 5 months ago 

Holaa sr amigo entiendo su razon, con tantas cosas que descarhamos en el telefono, las actividades que hacemos y todos los codigos que tiene que leer es compresible que se canse mucho😩un humano lo estaria. Buen concurso, suerte🤩.

 5 months ago 

Thank you for you comment, I so much appreciated it.

 5 months ago 

You're definitely a good phone user I must say. You seriously don't use your phone till it's dead and then you revive it by charging? I'll seriously love to learn from you. Please ensure you work on your markdown styles next time in terms of justification and avoid the use of only one picture when writing. Wishing you best of luck in this contest.

 5 months ago 

Thank you for the remark. All corrections are well noted. There is going to be adjustments in my subsequent posts. Thanks!

 5 months ago 

Ohkay Sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56