Need my pills

in The Pew4 years ago

P3280008.jpeg

I spend a lot of time at home practising my draw and target acquisition; Both elements are a critical part of the shooting sport of IPSC, a practical shooting competition that simulates real-world situations. Scoring is done by taking the achieved points score, subtracting any penalties gained and dividing by the elapsed time to get a hit factor. It's called Comstock scoring. This is why a fast draw and target acquisition is desirable as it can help towards a better score by saving time.

It sucks though because usually the dry-fire practice I do at home can be backed up with live-fire at the range. Unfortunately they are closed at the moment due to the flu...I'm getting tired of practicing and not shooting though.

I need my medicine...My Pew pills!

Sort:  

I couldn't help thinking of some of the similarities to Iaido Kenjutsu, the art of drawing the Katana. So much goes into a split second action that mean the difference of living and dying.

I've been practicing Kenjutsu for almost seven years.
The ultimate goal of Iaido is to win the match without having to draw the sword.

I guess it's similar considering the time factor...I mean in the wild west drawing ones revolver and getting the first aimed round off quickly in a gunfight would often mean the difference between life and death.

I have a Katana but don't strike many people with it. Lol. It's fun to play with though. I have some skill in that area, from a past life, but rarely end up face to face with an adversary where drawing it quickly is required these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55