The Diary Game Season 3 (09/10/21) | Simple Living in the Province

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

It is not how much we have, but how much we enjoy that makes happiness. -Charles Spurgeon

IMG_20210903_152207.jpg

Its been a year since my last visit here in the province of my grandfather. And I am happy because I was able to visit again last 1st week of September, 2021. My grandfather's Nipa hut or we call it Bahay kubo in Philippines is made of bamboo, nipa palm and coconut wood is served as our home here where we could rest and sleep. My aunt has been taking care of this Nipa hut since my grandfather died last year. She also continued to plant rice fields and other vegetables in the yard such as jackfruit, papaya, cassava, Malabar Spinach, Chili and a variety of other vegetables and fruits . There are lots of nutritious vegetables in the yard that can be cooked and a little harvest of rice from our ricefield. But there was a time when we ran out of rice and it was still a long way to walk since we are in the middle of the mountain. I estimated it would take an hour to get to the market. While we were still waiting for the rice to be bought in the market, we just took cassava from my grandfather's garden to make a suman cassava. My Aunte said if there is no harvest or if there is no money to buy rice, they will only cook cassava so that they can have something to eat.

IMG_20210905_130033.jpg finish product of suman cassava

IMG_20210904_135129.jpg jackfruit

I also enjoy cooking here. It only uses firewood when cooking. Sometimes it is difficult to light a fire, especially when it is windy. But it becomes easy when you get used to it.

IMG_20210903_144625.jpg

IMG_20210903_144546.jpg

Here you can experience simple living, the air is fresh, not noisy, no social media because there is no signal on the internet. Money is not very important here as long as you know how to plant, harvest and cook you will never got hungry.

As I came here I learned to appreciate simple things in life. Not everything that makes a person happy is money because the secret to being happy is to be content with what we have and always appreciate what God has given to us.

Thank you for reading my diary.

Godbless Steemians

Best Regards,
@zoe21

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

!zen 20

Hey! Congratulations your post has been selected by @alejos7ven to be upvoted by @steemingcuration account, thank you for create valuable content and contribute with the community being a Steemingzen, continue doing a great job! 🧑🏻‍⚖️
#onepercent #twopercent #affable
 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 390%

 3 years ago 

Ka nindot sa kinabuhi sa probinsya.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59204.66
ETH 2526.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52