How I found out about Steemit - by @whatsthatcryptom

I remember like it was yesterday. The wind was strong that day and my hair was all over my face. Palmtrees were waving to every person who was passing by. It was late 2017, and crypto was all over the news.

Yes, I was one of them. I learned about crypto and convinced my wife @ciska (who is now killing it btw and I am super proud) that cryptocurrencies were the future and we could get ourselves some.

mahmudul-hasan-shaon-kfgzkuYoheI-unsplash.jpgsource

The first cryptos I bought were Monero, Ripple, Bitcoin, Dogecoin, Verge, NXT and Gulden. The last one because my wife is Dutch and Gulden was the currency before the Euro. I didn't know anything about the tech, but just bought into the hype. When searching online on how to earn crypto, I read a post about Steemit and joined in. I think I didn't buy any when I started, but that changed over time.

I wrote about candlesticks and trading, as I was and still am very interested in trading stocks. I learned something and thought let's share it. I didn't make any Steem in the beginning and upvote bots were on the rise. I paid for some votes but didn´t feel like it was something for me. Waiting for appreciation when you just put time and effort into something was something (and still is ) I have difficulties with.

I left Steem after a few months and sold the little bit I had to trade on the market. Once and a while I found the energy to come and check, but it was still the same same. The same people who were getting all the votes, the same people that we're waiving the scepter. I didn´t want to be part of that.

Then, on a sunny day mid-2019, I came to check and heard about NEW STEEM, immediately that caught my attention. New Steem was going to be without bots and curating began to become more interesting. Also, tribes were getting loads of attention and I joined Reggaesteem. This tribe was about Jamaican culture and reggae music. I like that style of living and is one of the reasons I came to live on an Island. The vibe is chill, the weather is nice, the people less stressy.

I had loads of fun and became even ambassador. Later, when JS bought Steemit and a lot of people left, including all my friends I didn't felt like staying, but also not to make a move elsewhere. I also just accepted a new Start-up and time is very very limited.
At that point my wife was reading all the posts, AMAs, video´s and got herself the Steemit virus. She has more tech experience than myself and has tons of awesome ideas to help Steemit. I tried to set up a witness node for her, but that didn't have much success.

She is studying hours a day to learn about blockchain and the language the code is written in. I feel she should start it again, but this time I let her figure out how to set it up :s.

Well, this was my contribution to the challenge. I wish you both lots of fun curating and want to let you know how proud I am!

Yours,
Tom

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Dank je schat! Dikke kus

Bedankt om mij zo te steunen lieverd. Hou van je!

Thank you for your post! You got upvoted by the @steemingcurators with massive help from @steemcurator02!
Want to participate in more challenges on Steemit? Check our latest posts for more info! Thanks for #steeming
@cryptokannon ~ @ciska

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65