A Better Life with Steem | Feeding stray dogs near my housesteemCreated with Sketch.

Hello Friends...

image.png
source

Due to Covid - 19 second wave in Sri Lanka, The government imposed a quarantine curfew in several parts of the country for more than two weeks. Nobody left their homes for any need. The movement of people in the western province was highly restricted.

People had limited stock of foods at their homes. The supplies were also stopped. Nobody had a chance to go out and bring the essentials until the curfew was lifted.

We too were in the same situation but we managed to prepare a meal for us. But what about stray dogs? Who will feed them in a situation like this?

I was depressed when I saw them starving without any food. I thought the best I could do for them is to prepare some food. These days we do not have any meat items at home, We have almost become vegetarians. That’s because the second wave got spread mainly from two clusters, from the garment factories and from the largest fish market in Colombo.

Luckily I had a tin of salmon which I saved for my Kitty. I added it with some rice and cooked a meal for the stray dogs near my house. I wish I could prepare more but since we had very little stock of groceries, I wasn’t able to feed them as much as I wanted to.

This is how I cooked the food in a firewood hearth. I cooked it early in the morning and kept aside to let it cool.

image.png

My hubby helped me to get some banana leaves, I started putting the food equally on the leaves.

image.png

Then we invited them to our home!😉 We opened the gate and this is how they came. 😁

image.png

I think they are happy with what they got.

image.png

Within a few minutes all the food vanished. And few were late to come, I felt sorry for them. I think I should increase the quantity when I prepare food for them again.

How can I forget my baby? As usual I ended up feeding my cat!

My message to you is try to feed at least one dog near your home, because during these hard days they are starving without food. We have voices but they don’t. They can’t ask for food whenever they are hungry. The best way to show our love, kindness and compassion is to feed them. Let’s not forget about these poor souls in any circumstances. Help these animals survive, They are a part of our lives!

Thanks for reading...❤

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Bless your heart! This is so thoughtful in this situation of the country.. ❤️

Let's try to make a difference atlest like this.

Thanks Aiya ❤️

Te felicito por lo que haces con los perros tienes un gran corazón,que el creador ilumine tu camino y te llene de bendiciones.

Hi @hildegartte

Thanks a lot for taking your time to read my post and for your kind words. 😊

Have a nice day!

A very fine thing you are doing for the animals... indeed, they have no voices, and with so many people locked up inside, there are not many scraps to be found.

=^..^=

Thank you! 😊

 4 years ago 

Good job! This is the time they need help and street dogs have no food specially in lockdown periods

Thank you for setting your post to 100% Powerup.

Keep following @steemitblog for the latest updates.

The Steemit Team

Thank you... :)

Very Good thing that most people forget...

Great work.... Keep it up

Good work...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84