Steeming Community Contest|"Overcoming My Greatest Fear" by @sweetmaui01

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

Good day everyone! I hope for everyone's good health and safety each day.
Everyone of us have our nightmares in life. We think we might die of it even if to others it just a simple and common situation or just a small thing. And even its fun for others but for us it is a disaster.

photocollage_202172720301943.jpg

My greatest fear is to fall in deep waters in the middle of the sea. I cannot swim too long or for a far distance. Yes I can ride a boat but everytime the boat is in the middle of the travel my heart beats faster. My mind is thinking many "what ifs".
Because it is in my mind that if I fall in the deep water I will be drown. Or sea monstrous creatures will bite my feet and will start to swallow me.

IMG20210726081438.jpg

So one time just this year when we went swimming their was a chance for me to ride in the banana boat. Me and my husband were the oldest among the group. Together with our eldest son and our daughter and some other nephews and nieces. The guide told us that we will just tell him if we want an experience and he will make an unforgettable one by turning the boat upside down . In my mind I thought it was just a joke. I never thought he did in the middle of the sea.
As we raised our voice when the banana boat raced with the waves so fast. Our teenager fellows all shouted " fall us down!" Only me said " no!" Because I really can't swim too long but maybe it will just be safe because we had our lifejackets.

IMG_20210510_212847.jpg

Until the banana boat was so fast and the guide suddenly swayed its way to an opposite direction . And the boat was upside down and we fell down , down , down and down. I just closed my eyes . I told myself I will just float, I would not be sinking and lost forever. But really I said to myself " Lord , don"t let me die like this. Not here in water."
When I opened my eyes I was floating but I was covered by the turned upside banana boat. That was the time that I felt more fear. Its dark . Suddenly I saw hands reaching on me and other hands helped each other to lift the boat and turned it in.

Now I see them laughing so hard. I thought it was all done and okey. But my lifejacket pulled itself and it was unlocked . Now I shouted for my husbands name to help me because my life jacket started to slipped off my body. He was that fast that he grabbed me and locked my suit. I paused and cried . I thought of not going back to the boat maybe I can swim to the shore. But I realized it was too far. Maybe I can make it and will be there the next day if I swim. So no choice but to climb up the boat again. And I begged not to fall the boat again.

photocollage_202172810354448.jpg

Now did I overcame my greatest fear? Yes because someday I will ride the boat again. As long as I have fellows with me. I will not stop travelling by boat. Until such time that these waves befriend me.

IMG20210510161750.jpg
Sometimes we are afraid to do things more , that we think we can do. We don't trust the people around and the more we don't believe in ourself. Because of fear we cannot win. It is all in the mind. If you dare to try then who knows you will learn to love those things you fear before. My friends dare to try but safety first.
This is my entry for this.

I invite @jufranketchup
@jaofran
@jes88
@lealtafaith
@heart.sumalinog
Join and have some fun my friends

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

If i was the one in that boat, I would have begged with tears, because I cant swim. I love your story. Maybe you can try to swim to the middle of the sea on a fateful day. It may help. Just a suggestion!

 3 years ago 

!zen 30

Helloo, It is Alejandro. I just pass by to tell you that I have curated your post using Steemingcuration account. Keep up with the good work 😊

Notes: none.

 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 170%

Thank you so much @psicoparedes 🤗

 3 years ago 

You are welcome 😊

 3 years ago 

wow mam, so having the right people help you overcome your fear. Because from your experience, if it was me, I don't know if I would ever take a boat again😄

Contest entry verification:

RulesRemarks
1. set 30% post payout to steemingcuration
2. steemexclusive
3. posted at Steeming Community
4. used 300-1000 words
5. used of own photos or with source
6. contest post resteemed
7. commented the post link
8. invited at least 3 friends
9. tags used

Thank you so much for joining this contest. I wish you good luck!

Thank you very much mam🙏

 3 years ago 

Wow! You are a brave one @sweetmaui01 because after what happened you still want to ride a boat and travel in the middle of the sea which you feared of falling. Truely a brave woman.

Nice meeting you and I hope that you keep on going everyday. This is your new friend @olivia08.

Hello @olivia08 masaya po akong marami tayong mga Filipino dito sa steemit. Magandang araw kaibigan , be safe po at ingat kayo palagi diyan.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63