Steeming Community Contest Week #02 | “Dear Steemit” 120$ Total Worth of Upvote!steemCreated with Sketch.

in Steeming Community3 years ago

Hi!

Good evening, morning, or afternoon to you wherever you are. It's a cool evening here on my side. I stumbled across the diary contest quite late but at least, here I am.

Before I start my letter to my dearest Steemit, I'll invite the following friends: @swaylee, @Emmanuel-malume, and @uchescrib. And as part of the requirement, @fabio2614.

Dearest Steemit,

IMG_20210516_225634.jpg

Like my mum would sometimes say, I can bet my teeth that you're on the patio reading this. Letters aren't our thing but they have a special feeling to them.

Oh Steemit, how I miss you so, and how it hurts that we can't be together for now. It's been close to three months since we saw each other and not a minute goes by that I don't think of you.

While I miss you terribly, I won't only be talking about how lovesick I am. I'll interest you in only important highlights; one or two for each letter.

I never told you about this and will love if you will be patient till the end and not panic. I am fine now but I felt you needed to know.

When you left that morning, I felt so sad that I decided to visit my friend, Oge. But I didn't know her house since she had moved so I took the journey there as my personal field trip.

The driver had asked me if he should drop me off but I insisted on *finding my path.

I knew Oge lived in Ajah, so I thought that I'd call her when I got to the area. There had been bone-chilling stories of uber drivers and the assault they caused passengers so I used Taxify to book the trip.

There are many routes to get to the island, most of which I am familiar with. But the driver took an unfamiliar turn after the Third Mainland Bridge.

I didn't protest because I had plenty of time and didn't mind learning a new route. When we charted further into unfamiliar territory, I texted Oge that I was coming see her. I also told her that we'd taken a detour to cut off most of the traffic and might take a while doing so.

She was excited and told me to be careful but I dismissed the last part and we continued texting other silly stuff.

The car hit a deep pothole and that threw me off the seat for a second. I looked up annoyed and continued using my phone but did a double take.

We hadn't driven for long but the place looked deserted, save for a few bikes and beaten cars on the road.

The driver noticed my eyes but looked straight ahead. I dared to ask him where we were but my phone vibrated suddenly. A notification from Taxify popped up, "Your ride is here".

I felt the blood leave my face, and my fingers grow cold. The breakfast I didn't have threatened to come up and it felt difficult to breathe.

I searched my mind for what to do but I was too tense to bring up solutions. Finally, I asked him where he was taking us and he laughed.

In another situation, I would probably have laughed but this wasn't my driver and the laugh sounded sinister. But he explained that the notification entered his phone that he had arrived to pick his customer, saying that the network delayed it.

I wasn't convinced and he could tell. So taking up his phone and called someone so I could hear. It was a customer care line for Taxify.

He explained the situation to the attending lady and she laughed a little. She focused her attention on me, apologised for how I felt, and chatted.

Apparently, their drivers used this route for when the bridge was gridlocked but the road was bad, sometimes the exit wouldn't be open and policemen at the end would charged heavily. For those reasons, people didn't use it often, leaving it deserted.

She also said that the network was messy that day and frantic calls had been coming in for the same late message I received.

Apologising again and wishing me a lovely rest of the day, she ended the call. I was very thankful and relieved.

Turning to the driver, I asked him why he didn't explain everything at once when he noticed my discomfort. He said that I wouldn't have believed him, and I didn't blame him. I most likely wouldn't have.

I got to Oge's safely but was shaken for a while, thinking that things could easily have been different.

But it was exhausting to imagine so I dropped it and focused on my time with my bestfriend.

You can see now that neither of us needed to panic; not for now or the future. You just have to trust that I'll be fine, as will you. We pray for each other and wish the best, we'll be fine love.

My heart aches less now that I know we will be together in two weeks. I really can't wait to see you again.

Until I write again, which will be next week, please stay safe darling. I miss you but my heart beats more with love.

X O X O.

Yours truly,
@stepsbyelven.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hello stepsbyelven ,so it was just a misunderstanding... I am glad you are safe🙂

Your entry to the contest has been approved. Your participation is highly appreciated. I wish you good luck!

Thank you @fabio2614. Sorry if I gave a scare. 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15