THROWBACK : Travel Memories in Chiang Mai Thailand

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

According to Saint Augustine, "the world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page."

This is true for me as when I was younger, I started to love seeing different places and different people in different cultures and settings. I have been into different countries but the place that I could call home is in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Thailand always amazed me from its beauty of the places I have been, to the people I have met, from the food I have tasted, the job that I always dreamed of, the weather that suites me and the most important feature in Thailand is when I met my wife @georgie84.

My wife and I both love the country and we both call it our home. We have our jobs and friends, and a family at church who helps us with our spiritual life and keeping us feel loved and belonged in the community. Just after we get married here in Cebu, Philippines we thought that we could go back with our normal life and the desire of building a family of our own. Memories have just keep reminding us that anytime in God's perfect time he will send us back home.

Places we traveled

Doi Inthanon with church family
Doi Inthanon is the highest mountain in Thailand. It is in Chom Thong District, Chiang Mai Province. This is the district where my wife used to live and work before we left for the Philippines. The place is very clean and peaceful. A lot of tourists from different districts would visit the mountain especially during winter as the temperature really goes down. This is one of those places in Thailand that would experience winter during November to February or early March. This is where I was able to get the fresh and very affordable fruits.

IMG_1105.jpg

IMG_1103.jpg

IMG_1105.jpg

IMG_1193.jpg

Rajapruek Garden

The Rajapruek Flower Gardens are a must-see when visiting the Chiang Mai area. The expansive gardens are incredibly picturesque. With a lot of different flowers in different species. It's a quiet big area and so bike rentals are available and, for less active travelers, an electric bus is also available to take us around. But in our case that time, we didn't use the bike and the electronic bus because we started in different route. Supposedly we should started where the electronic bus was located. Nevertheless, the trip was really fun. Walking 4-5 hours to see the beauty of the gardens.
IMG_20200102_105437852_HDR.jpg

IMG_20200102_112128668_HDR.jpg

IMG20200102111840.jpg

Mae Sa waterfall

Mae Sa Waterfall is an impressive eight level waterfall with a small plunge pool for swimming in. It is famous destinations of both Thais's and foreigners during the weekend. Entrance costs 200 Baht for foreigners (expensive for me haha but luckily my wife looks like a Thai) and it is a good idea to pack a blanket or picnic and spend a day at the waterfall. There is a large parking lot with lots of street vendors selling grilled pork and sticky rice, fruit, bottled drinks and ice cream. So no worries to get hungry as long as you have enough budget.

IMG20190504093959.jpg

IMG20190504101113.jpg

IMG_20190504_101324650_HDR.jpg

These are some of the places I have traveled with my wife in Chiang Mai, Thailand. We hope to go back to our home hopefully soon, but if not soon hopefully someday.

Thank you @fabio2614 for initiating this contest. To @gilbertthegreat for inviting me to join. This helps me remember happy memories to my favorite place. I would like to express my gratitude to the community, all the MOD's and supporters for the continuous hard work you put to help us all. GOD SPEED!

I invite @jess88 @kyrie1234 @sweetspicy to join the contest.... happy steeming!

Sort:  

Hi @steemitcebu

Your post is really good in steemit platform.

I appreciate your great work✅

Hey I am Founder Of :
Open The World Community.

So I invite you to my community because you make awesome post in steemit I will support your post in our community so come here & make post as you like anything.

Hey my dear friend, how are you, I hope you're fine & you need more vote & money in steemit if you need " we have a new community name Open The World.

If you need more vote please come our community & make post (photography,The dairy game,Movie review, Science,Daily life, Story & if you like anything)

The steemit team said us that if we have active user then they will give us community or booming Support, so if you Wanna booming support then please come to our community & subscribe this community,vote and post here..you will get booming support within e very short time.

& We will try to give vote every quality post in this community, So I hope you will check our new community.

This community is open to all Steemian ❤️

Subscribe Click this link below :

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-151614

Beautiful place!

 3 years ago 

Yes, it is. Thanks!

 3 years ago (edited)

!zen 30

Omg friend, how beautiful is your travel memory entry is... it has carved a wonderful love story. Though I've already heard this from Georgie, but the impact of you writing this is superb! ... But acceptance of entry has ended already yesterday July 16... better luck next time, and please don't be late as we follow all rules strictly. Thank you so much.

 3 years ago 

No worries. I'm still glad to be able to share. Thanks and keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58866.42
ETH 2515.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46