The Cats of the Island of Symi. (My photos)

in Steeming Community4 years ago

DSC_0209 (2).JPG

The orange color reminds me of the incredible color of some cats that I met in Symi, the beautiful Greek island of the Dodecanese, which I told you about in the previous post. It is known that in Greece there are many feline colonies, such as those of Mykonos, or of Rhodi Island which is located in the Oasis of Kallithéa or the island of Samos.

DSC_0205 (2).JPG

Some estimates even speak of about 2 million cats living in Greece where cats are particularly beloved pets. In fact, if you happen to visit the Greek islands, you will be surprised by the number of cats you meet almost everywhere.

DSC_0211 (2).JPG

These are always domestic cats, cared for and sleepy and also very willing to be photographed aware, now, of their role within the tourist economy!

DSC_0208 (2).JPG

Seriously in Greece there is also a native breed, known as the Aegean cat and associations that promote the care and adoption of cats such as, for example, the Mykonos Animal Welfare, which since 2005, deals with the care of cats in Mykonos or God's Little People Cat Rescue, which deals with the feline colony of Syros and has a Facebook page followed by 64,065 people.

DSC_0213 (2).JPG

These cats, with their beautiful orange color, I met them on the Island of Symi, and I propose them to you for today's story.

Sort:  

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

Nice photos. I am not a fan of cats they make me sneeze haha but still I use to love them

thank you for your comment

Very nice! I like the relationships both people from Greece and Turkey have with cats. We went to Rodos in Greece many years ago, and I remember there were a lot of cats.

=^..^=

I agree! y
r
thank for your comment

Lovely story, in my family a while ago we dedicated ourselves to rescuing dogs and cats that wandered in the streets, we promoted a sterilization campaign, I'm not sure that is the way but I do think that people could be better people if they adopted a cat . I have 2 and a dog and they are the most beautiful thing there is ... thanks for sharing this story about Mykonos.

you are welcome!

Coll, beautiful cat )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66