How I found out about Steemit- by @sapwood

in Steeming Community4 years ago

sap6.png


This is my entry into @steemingcurators contest. The details of the contest can be found here.


How your blockchain career began actually?

My Blockchain journey started with Steem Blockchain.

I joined in Steemit in Sept 2018. I know it was late, considering the fact that Steem blockchain was very much in blockchain space since 2016. However, it was also a fact that I was not aware of what Blockchain tech until late 2017.

The massive rise of Bitcoin in 2017 forced every one of us to know more about blockchain. Even the vegetable vendor near my locality started talking about bitcoin, such was the craze in late 2017.

Anyway, one of my friends told me to join Steemit and he told me that I can earn for blogging, just like I do on Facebook. It got me amusing and a wow type feeling especially when he told me that people are earning 20 to 30 USD per blog. I got even more enthusiastic when he told me that if I can upload photos of high quality with a DSLR, it can earn me good amounts.

So I started blogging in Steemit and at that time Oracle-D was organizing writing contest every month. I was even more ecstatic to participate in such contests.

Why did you join Steemit?

The first reason is to write a blog, participate in a contest, and earn.

The second reason is I have always loved the interface of Steemit, very simple and neat and clean, with no forced ads, pop-ups.

The third reason is, of course, Blockchain tech and its prevalence in the broader market as a store of value. So I thought if I keep on earning from Steemit and spend my liquid SBD for my daily expenses and keep on saving the SP and when STEEM will reach 3 or 4 USD again, then I will be rich, as by that time I must have accumulated sufficient SP.

Socializing in Blockchain-based platforms like Steemit is different and to my understanding, it is better than the other platforms. Because people are not here for time-pass, they want to produce good content as that enhances the learning potential. In other traditional platforms, the contents are mostly for fun and time-pass, although engagement is there. But I love this side(Steemit) of socializing.

What was your first experience?

See it is really interesting to share my experience. In the first blog, I earned 0, in the second I earned $0.43, and in the third one, I earned $5.13. After earning $5.13 in the third blog, it was a jubilant feeling for me. You can check my blog in which I earned $5.13, in fact, it was a contest.

I had also put a lot of effort into that blog and the reward was a jubilant feeling for me.

Actually, I was looking for contests in Steemit to participate and luckily Oracle-d contests gave an opportunity to partake in the contest.

What was your knowledge of blockchain? Are you interested in that?

Yes, yes, 100% interested in Blockchain technology. Everyone at that time saying me that if you are posting in Blockchain, your content will remain there forever, no one can erase it. That is how I got to know that Blockchain is immutable and that is also the reason why Blockchain is popular and different from other traditional platforms where your content may or may not remain forever and all depends upon the centralized entity who runs the platform.

The second best thing for me was that I and only I am the owner of my STEEM or SBD of my wallet. That was again a motivation that unlike the traditional platform or Paypal, no one except me can authorize a transfer. Earlier I have used Paypal. After using crypto and experiencing it, I got convinced that crypto is better than Paypal, in terms of absolute control of the fund, cost-effective transfer, and exchange.

Did you invite friends?

Initially, I thought to make a campaign and promote STEEM but somehow due to lack of financial support I could not do that. My family members are actually not into the online-internet things. They are very mediocre, but I will try in the future to introduce some of my friends to Steem Blockchain. Now the price is also rising, so I think there will be an influx of new people into this platform.

Thank you.

Steem on.

Sort:  

Hi thanks for participating and to hear your story! Cool that Steemit was your first. I hope you have many of those jubilant feelings.

Thank you for your post! You got upvoted by the @steemingcurators with massive help from @steemcurator02!
Want to participate in more challenges on Steemit? Check our latest posts for more info! Thanks for #steeming
@cryptokannon ~ @ciska

Thank you for this initiative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68145.39
ETH 3732.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65