THE DIARY GAME : 09/08/2020 : #WeightLossChallenge

Hi Everyone,

I have been on Steem since 2018 and it has been a fantastic journey on this platform so far. I and my husband are actively involved in blogging about food and travel. We also have an upcoming food community called “The Uncook”. I have been following the diary game for a while now and thought it was really interesting. Hence, I decided to jump on the bandwagon and write my diary on weight loss. Its already season 2 but why the heck not :)

IMG_20200619_161134.jpg
I am hoping to kill two birds with one stone 😉 that is not only would I pen down my day to day experience, thoughts and emotions, but make also do something that motivates self and others – Become fit.

Since my post-graduation days, I have struggled with weight issues. I have realized overtime, unlike some people who can eat anything and everything, in whatever quantity, they can stay slim, I tend to gain weight if I don’t follow an extremely strict regime. I have done dieting, gyming and lost weight. But then again, the moment I take it easy the weight comes back and its back to the square one.


My struggle therefore has been to arrive at that perfect balance between food, exercise and living life 😊 So I have decided to experiment something new with food and make some life style changes. My diary is going to be pretty much focussed on that. So here goes my Day-1


Day-1

I started my day at 5:30 AM. Got ready and went for an hour long walk with my father, who incidentally is an ex-army man, extremely disciplined and fit at his age. Gosh! I don’t know where I came from. Zero motivation and zero drive to be fit.. But I’m trying now.


Anyway, once I came back home, I caught up with an hour of sleep and then started my daily house chores. I have decided to experiment with a low-calorie diet for few days. So today I decided to just have tender coconut. That is pretty much what I will consume in the day. A human being can survive just on tender coconut Although we still have to have some sodium if we are into physical activity.

You must be thinking, it’s an over ambitious plan on day 1 itself, Isn’t it? Well you know what, you are right. I over did it. By mid afternoon my head was spinning, I was having hunger pangs. My husband offered me some dry fruits to eat, which I happily accepted and ate. Dry fruits are
supposed to be good source of energy. I thought it would do. But I was wrong.  I was still roaming around like a hungry jack. I just couldn’t focus on my office work. All I could think off was solid, cooked, hot food.  Dry Fruits just didn’t help.

This was our original plan for the dayDSC05797.JPG

My husband kept consoling and motivating me- “This shall pass Neha. You will be fine. “Well that didn’t work either. I fact I was annoyed and frustrated at him for not being able to understand my plight. Finally, when I just couldn’t control any longer, I went to the kitchen, opened a packet of Monaco- salty biscuits and had 3 of them. Oh Gawd, those 3 biscuits melting
in my mouth felt like heaven. Yummmmmm….

That plus few almonds my husband had given me earlier gave me the energy to carry on for another 2 hours. I work in a global IT company. My team is spread across the world. Thus my job involves constantly being on calls or online meeting for over 8 hours a day, which can be extremely exhausting. By the time it was 6 PM, I was super tired and absolutely famished.

After a day’s long office plus house work, and bouts of hunger I decided to go easy on myself and went to the kitchen to prepare healthy dinner.

The healthiest and quick meal that I know off and also considered as comfort food in India is “Moong dal Khichdi” a dish made out of Lentil and rice. By 6:30PM, the food was ready and set on table. I and my husband hogged on it. Oh boy what a relief it was. Now I know why it’s called
comfort food.

I mentioned earlier on that I am also trying to make change in my life style. Part of that change is to take meals at proper time. Therefore, I am also trying to make sure there is adequate gap between dinner and sleep time. As per Ayurveda, ideally there should be 2 – 3 hours gap. That’s another sure shot practice that can help reduce weight and stay fit. By eating dinner
at 6:30 as against 9PM which we normally do, I met my goal for Day-1 on this front atleast.

Well to sum up my Day-1 I can say I achieved 70% of my target. I also learnt that not to overdo things. At the same time one can still push oneself out of comfort zone.

Today is the lightest I have felt in years by following Day-1 diet. Let’s see how and where my other days are going to pan out. Signing off for today. I hope you enjoyed reading, my diary.

Thats how much we consumed on day oneIMG_20200805_083827.jpg

Let’s see how day 2 goes….

If you like our post please resteem, follow and please upvote.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Gaining perfect balance between food, exercise and living life is a very difficult objective. Good luck !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62410.74
ETH 2445.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67