If I Could Start Over, I Would Be A Great Scientist By @oppongk

in Steeming Community4 years ago

Our Local adage will say: "A child who will buy a child in future, as he walks in town he will be asking of the price of a car." At times the society , the environment and the home that we come from have much influence on the child's development. Other than that I should have become a great Scientist in all fields of Science. My Grand Mom will tell you that when I was young, I used to ask so many questions on the things around us, what they are used for. Even when I grew up small in my lower primary, I would be teaching my Grand Mom about the kinds of food to eat in order to be healthy. I was having great Scientific idea and the passion to grow up in Scientist World.

photo-1576670263020-7842552c87d0.jpeg
Unsplash

But the idea began to shrink when I saw that there wasn't much support from home. Because in Ghana when you want to become a Lab Technician or Medical Doctor you will spend over $50,000 to complete the whole course. The society and the environment also discourage me from learning hard to achieve this status of becoming a scientist. If you are found in the midst of enlightened people, definitely you would be elightened, what if you found yourself with people who will rather discourage you because they don't know the importance of education? It'll rather not motivate you to learn, you will rather follow the high cot boys around.

Despite all these challenges I'm not completely at sea and having missed this opportunity of becoming great scientists. I have swifted a little more of Agriculture related or Applied Science. Yet, I see myself having the great potential of being a scientist in most of the field like, anatomy, physician, laboratory technician and biochemist. I love being a great scientist simply because that is where my passion is, and I always want to think and invent new thing in the World. Now, my profession is "A Trained Integrated Science Teacher at the Basic School." This doesn't make me full scientist. Obviously my colleague teachers will testify what I can create in terms of practical science. And even Steem block chain here, I often share contents in relation to human biology or anatomy and chemistry. You can check out my recent post on the human synovial joint that I drew.

32FTXiZsHoAW6noHJDhrg3W8ZKHVFSsLYM859aTDCF8iErGmkUSjRexkYucXtrCKEwBLQ3XRELpvnwJfvzGm9HvwZgNGR1H3fQN5rJSRT5sjPJ47vxFAXKe8ArjdvjdkLRSVq7jh3yLAmS7x (1).jpeg

I have one role model in my life that I always want to be like him, if not they same at least get closer to when he reached. His name is Prof. Frimpong Boateng. He is a surgical doc. by profession. The first time I got heard of this renowned doc. in Ghana is when, someone was in need of heart implantation which isn't easy to survive through that problem. This Prof. was able to transplant someone who has had a serious accident with all his body parts seriously injured to the fellow who was in need of this heart implantation. He did this with few minutes. According to the experts, they said if he delays the patient wouldn't survive, so he often do it within a short time. I became trusted to this gentleman, and followed his documentaries. And I encouraged myself to be trained in my field and be like him.

kwabena-frimpong-boateng.jpg
Pro.Frimpong Boateng, the cardio thoracic surgeon with patience in this picture

Basically I love practical work more than theoretical. My students at basic level will confirm, when I'm teaching I more conversant with using practical objects to demonstrate for learners to get the concept. I often make improvisation a lot to build on my students, since that is the best ways to let my learners understand the concept I would want them to get. I'm also used to combining chemicals when it comes to teaching chemistry. I love drawing of the structure of organisms in the course of teaching and aspect of biology: parts of a flower, the structure of human dentition and digestive system of human are on my finger tips. Right now Ghana lacks such kind of modern laboratory equipment, with the exception of the well developed medical schools. As I speak now I would want to acquire my personal laboratory well equiped to effectively carry out the course of being a great scientist. Because I wasn't exposed with some of these great laboratory equipment like microscope 🔬, computer, scanner machine, the well improvised anatomy of human structure and many other things.

Nothing is impossible in this World if you tune your mind to do so. My dream of becoming a great scientist is still possible to realise. Only time and money will tell. Right now, I'm only 35yrs old, so it isn't too late too late for me to pursue this course. The hope is that I'm saving some money for this great dream to be realise by next year since Covid 19 pandemic spoiled everything I planned. And I'm hoping to start this dream, I thinks Steem block chain too will help. Thanks to everyone and may all your dreams come true!!!

Sort:  

This is a great goal! I wish you success.

Thanks buddy!

 4 years ago 

@oppongk wish you have a way out to get your dream become true

Thanks very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14