Steeming Community Contest | Theme: "Love and Betrayal" by @luckydrums

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

LOVE AND BETRAYAL


source

My aunt had just lost her husband, things got really tough for her, she could no longer afford to pay her maid servant and so, she had to let her go. She lived in a very big house with her four kids.

She had called my mum earlier to complain about how she could no longer cope with taking care of the kids, her business and the house chores. Her kids were still little so they couldn't do much. She had to get them ready for school every morning, tidy up the house, cook the meals and take them to school before she left for work.

I was getting set to enter into the university that year. My mum pleaded that I forfeit the university and go stay with her, atleast until she gets over the death of her husband. It wasn't easy for me but I understood that my aunt was in distress and needed help and I was particularly fond of her so I accepted to go stay with her.
I helped her with the chores, the kids and other menial jobs. She was really happy to have me around and I could see the relief on her face.

On one of the occasions when she traveled, I was called by her daughter's teacher to come to the hospital. Her daughter Joan had fallen from the swing and had broken her head.
They said she had lost a lot of blood and needed immediate transfusion or she could lose her life. I immediately asked that they take mine, that I am family. Tests were carried out and they took a pint of blood from my body.

News got to my aunt, she came back the next day, met with the school teachers and the doctors in the hospital. They explained how it all happened and how I had saved the life of her daughter by donating my blood. She was very happy, she hugged me and said she loves me and that I was a blessing to the family.

I continued to stay with her and I helped as much as I could, the workload was so much for me but I couldn't let my aunt suffer.
Some months later, some men came over to the house, they were from the king's palace. They said it was the turn of our family to benefit from the king's scholarship scheme and I had been selected to study abroad. I was asked to get my high school certificate and other necessary documents and present it in two weeks or the scholarship would be given to another member of the family. I was extremely happy, it was a dream come true for me. I got all the necessary documents ready that same day.

On the day of the submission, I couldn't find my documents, I searched everywhere in my room and all over the house, I called my aunt and the children and asked if they had seen it and they replied in the negative. They even joined me in searching for it but it was nowhere in sight. Immediately, tears started running down my cheeks, I cried like a baby. I just couldn't believe it because I was sure I kept the documents in my bag. My aunt scolded me, she said I was careless and I had ruined my life.

When the scholarship officers came around, I had no document to present, so they had to take my aunt's first child's documents. I plunged into depression and just couldn't imagine how such opportunity had eluded me. I was just consoled by the fact that the scholarship was ceded to my cousin.

Few weeks later, I was cleaning my aunt's room like I normally did. I decided to clean under her bed. As I lifted her bed to clean, I saw my documents, the very ones I needed for the scholarship. My aunt had put them there because she knew her son was next in line if I couldn't go. I was devastated. After all I had done for her and her kids, I thought she said she loved me like her son. I cried bitterly and I had to leave her house.

I had to go back to mum, I had to stay around people that truly loved me, it helped me heal.
Later on I managed to forgive her.

Few years later, she got into a ghastly motor accident and was admitted in the hospital. My mum coerced me into going to stay in the hospital and look after her.

When I got to the hospital, I found her in a very pitiable state. Almost immediately, all the grudge and anger I had held towards her vanished.

pexels-photo-7583371.jpegsource

It was replaced with pity and the uncontrollable urge to love and protect my own. I realized that despising her wouldn't change anything or make me feel better.

I had to forgive her and hope she learnt her lesson.

That is my story, I invite my friends @zekea, @stepsbyelven,@omarion1 and @sammypoet to share their stories. I delegated 30% of the payout of this post to @steemingcuration

Special thanks to the steemingcommunity , @steemingcuration , @fabio2614 for this wonderful contest, it's really nice to share our lives with this family. I love you all.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

It really a sad story. But am glad you letter forgive her and protect what is yours.

 3 years ago 

Helloo. I see you do not have our Steemingzen badge. It is very important for you to have it within this community. That is a proof of support from you to us, and that way we can deliver support to you. Most of contests within the community and given support are majority for Steemingzen members. If you want to become a Steemingzen, please check out this post:

https://steemit.com/hive-139293/@psicoparedes/2scd5f-biweekly-steemingzen-badge-update-for-steeming-newcomers-have-you-got-your-badge-yet-or-or-actualizacion-bisemanal-de-insignia

It is not only to read and apply. You must have commitment. If you apply, you are committed to follow the community guidelines. Regards for you. Thank you for your comprehension. 😊

#onepercent #venezuela #affable

@psicoparedes I agree to be part of Steeming Community by committing to Proof of Support 30% beneficiary to @steemingcuration

Thank you so much

 3 years ago 

Touching and good story @luckydrums was it based on the true story that happened to yourself?

 3 years ago (edited)

Yes it was , @cryptokannon Do u think I did the right thing by forgiving her ?.

Nice story bro.

 3 years ago 

her eldest son who is next in line and was sent abroad for scholarship instead..., you mean she has an eldest son who can actually help her with the kids and the housework, yet you sacrificed your university for them?

Contest entry verification:

Your post entry is valid, thank you so much for joining this contest. I wish you good luck!

Yes @fabio2614. He was in high school outside the state and it was a boarding school (meaning he stays in school) and he was about to write his final exams at that time.

 3 years ago 

This is love and betrayal...nice post i must confess.

Thanks bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60732.06
ETH 2345.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46