A Day To Remember // Helped an Elderly Couple with their Covid Vaccination // 30% Postpayout to @steemingcuration

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)




At the Vaccination Center

30% Postpayout to @steemingcuration


Namaste #Steemians,



I am very glad I can share this day with Steeming Community. On 30th June 2021, I helped an elderly couple with their second dose of Covid Vaccination.

An elderly couple lives two floors above us. They are living here for more than two decades. The husband is 85 and the wife is 74. They have a son, Sudipta, due to his work Sudipta lives in Pune, 1830km from Kolkata. Usually, the couple lives with their son and daughter-in-law. Few months before the Second wave of Covid in India they came to Kolkata to claim their pension funds for the year. Sadly they are stuck here due to the second wave, also they are not fully vaccinated so they cannot travel to their son's house.

As there was a high rush to get vaccinated they cannot sucessfully book an appointment for their second dose, so they came to our home asking for help, to book an appointment.

Helped them to book an appointment for the second dose, which is scheduled for 30th June 2021. The vaccination center is 2km away, but they were hesitating to go alone. So I promised them to go with them to the center.

On 30th June their appointment was fixed between 12:00 AM to 01:00 PM. I dressed up and called them to get ready. Surprisingly they are already dressed up. So our begins our journey.

Booked an electric rickshaw for them and told the rickshaw puller our desired address. Still, he has forgotten the route and took a wrong turn. I told him to follow me.


Journey to the Center

We arrived at the center bit early, still, there was a line to do some paperwork to fill up. I told them I will do the paperwork they should sit down inside of the Vaccination center. They did. As I filling up their documents a funny incident occurred. According to the Government's document, her age is 68, but as per my knowledge, her actual age is 74. Oh! I see. The old proverb Don't ask a lady her age 😉.


Vaccination Form

Family members cannot go inside the center so I had to wait outside till they were vaccinated. Luckily they didn't had wait for long periods of time. After 20 minutes of waiting period, their serial number popped up on the screen, and they are off to Get Vaccinated.

The waiting areas for the family members are all occupied. No problem! I sat on my Scooters seat. I called few minutes after they were in. Finally, they got their vaccine. Yay! But I had to wait for an hour, as they had to follow govt guidelines, "After getting the vaccination the doctor need to observe the patient for an hour".


Waiting Outside

After little more than an hour, the Doctor released them. They looked happy. I booked an e-rickshaw for them to get back home. I followed them till they enter their home.


Returning home

I chose to share the day with you because I personally think life is short and we need to spread kindness, positivity in this hour of need. People have become lonely, helpless, vulnerable due to this pandemic and we need to come together with each other's help. If the story inspires anybody then I would be glad that my effort did pay off. I have my faith that the Steemit platform will help the message reach everybody.


Selfie with the Dattas

Thank You & Happy Steeming

My sincere gratitude to @fabio2614 for organizing this contest.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I hope many will be inspired by what you have done. Are they still in your place today?

Contest entry verification:

RulesRemarks
1. set 30% post payout to steemingcuration
2. steemexclusive
3. posted at Steeming Community
4. at least 300 words
5. used of own photos or with source
6. contest post resteemed
7. commented the post link
8. invited at least 3 friends
9. tags used

Thank you so much for joining this contest. I wish you good luck!

 3 years ago (edited)

They are still here @fabio2614! But they will leave Kolkata in September.

 3 years ago 

!zen 30

Curated by @juichi,

 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 220%

 3 years ago 

Thank you @juichi 🙏🏾

Great gesture :)

Keep up the good work

 3 years ago 

Thank you ☺️

 3 years ago 

Hello @kingporos,

Delegate to @steemingcuration community curation and earn steem monthly depending on the amount you delegated.

Steeming Community Quick Delegation Guide

- [ ]
25 SP100 SP250 SP500 SP1000 SP1500 SP2500 SP

Steeming Community curation trail.

Discord channel.

Thank you.

 3 years ago 

I have low SP right now, but when I have more SP, I will definately delegate SP to Steeming Community @juichi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46