Steeming Community Contest |Throwback:"Memories of My Sweet 16" by @jovita30by

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello stemains

Am happy to share my story with this wonderful community.
We all have stories to tell at one point in our life.
Some may be sad, happy, shameful e.t.c

My sweet sixteen has always interest me .
I pinned a lot to my 16th birthday. I told my self, i would not go into a relationship untill i was 16.

I had a friend then who has been showing interest towards me, I liked him then but i was waiting for my sixteen birthday.

Gradually we where drawing close to my birth month, i was so excited, i can now say yes to my child hood crush.
I told my friends what i had in my, how i was planning on saying yes to him on my birthday, i could remember Joy one of my friend telling me she does not think it was a good idea, she said

what if he changes his mind before then, he has been asking you out for almost two years now.

I thought about what she said, but for one reason or the other, i wanted to keep to my promise.

A week to my sixteen birthday, he travelled to see his uncle in Abuja, which is about 10 hours drive from lagos where i stay with my parent.

At first the travelling was not a big deal, he calls me as usual and still tells me, that he has not given up on the love he has for me.

Each time i think about my birthday, i get excited because for the first time i would officially be in a relationship with my crush.

All this while he has thought, i was not so into him like he was with me. I Kept calm about my feelings because i was waiting for my sixteen birthday.

My birthday came, waking up that morning 16th of April. The sky looked different, Everything looked so bright to me than usaul, maybe it's because, i was going to open my feelings up to my crush.

FB_IMG_1609923083512.jpg
the morning of my sweet sixteen birthda

I ran to my phone to check if he had called, there was no miss call from him, my heart was heavy. As time goes the excitment began to die down, and anger gradually took hold of the best part of me.
Everyone around me including my family was worried, they asked why i was angry, and i told them nothing, i tried hiding my emotions but I was not doing a good job with that, Everybody knew i was not my self, but they wondered why today of all days.

By 8am the following day, my phone rang and it was his friend kelvin, he i should not say anything, that my secret crush (prince) his friend was on the other side of the phone.

They where having a phone conversation and he wanted me to know the reason why prince did not call me on my birthday.
It appeared that he has meet a girl few days to my birthday, and he was with her in a park almost the whole day, that was why he forgot about my birthday.

After hearing this i was even more heart heart broken than i was. I gathered courage to call kelvin, asking kelvin why he was letting me into their conversation.
He said, He knows i had feelings for him even if i refuse to tell him.

He said

you should not allow your feelings suffer because you want to make a point that is not inrelevant.

I was angry with kelvin and prince for a very long time. But as i got older, i reaalized, what happened years back was all my fault and i had no one to blame. If only i had told him how i felt, maybe he would have waited a bit longer for me.

Years after, i learnt a better way to handle my relationship.
I most say i learnt the hard way.

IMG_1675.jpeg
me years later

Thank you @fabio2614 for reading my story.

I would want to know, if i had told you about my plans then, what would have been your advice to me.

I invite @ceendy20 @wendy50 @irene-hic for this contest

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

!zen 30

Helloo, It is Alejandro. I just pass by to tell you that I have curated your post using Steemingcuration account. Keep up with the good work 😊

Notes: none.

 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 220%

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much.

 3 years ago (edited)

Oh my, it was the moment when even a shadow of our crush we know it well... how much more that your crush was flirting with you too.. that was heaven... But him to have someone else and was not able to wait a few days longer it was best to not say yes at all... you're still very young then... and you know stupidity and craziness comes with that age... we don't know what else would happen then...

Contest entry verification:

RulesRemarks
1. set 30% post payout to steemingcuration
2. steemexclusive
3. posted at Steeming Community
4. used 300 words or more
5. used of own photos
6. contest post resteemed
7. commented the post link
8. invited at least 3 friends
9. tags used

Thank you so much for joining this contest. I wish you good luck!

 3 years ago 

Am sorry, just deed the needful. Thank you verymuch for the notification

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39