Steeming Community Contest | Theme: "Life Hacks/DIY and Discoveries" | Crocheted Easy Peasy Sleazy Buns and Beanie Hats

in Steeming Community3 years ago

Good day Steemians! I really love this amazing community that supports each other. Here is my entry to the #SteemingCommunity contest. Thanks, @fabio2614 for the initiative.

crocheted sleazy buns and beanie hats.jpg

I crochet Beanie hats and Sleazy (messy) buns in addition to runners, doilies, curtains, crop tops, bikinis, coasters, chair covers,shorts and the likes. I've had this idea for some time and it's finally come to fruition! A SLEAZY BUN or some call it Messy Bun.

image.png

This sleazy crochet bun will become a wardrobe classic! This hat style allows you to wear your hair in a ponytail or bun without it seeming awkward under the hat. Excellent for newbies!



This is the ideal Sleazy Bun for "I'm twisting my hair up and my ears are freezing." It's also great for keeping the chilly wind out of your ears in the cold season, plus it's stylish! The great thing about this hat is that I can make it out of any yarn or thread I like. I like that I can play about with yarn/thread and stitch to create different looks. I've already made a few for myself, and my friends and I've included beads in a few of them. It also offers me the freedom to play around with the design.

For my daughter to wear in their office, I crocheted one for her. She stated that she is extremely cautious due to the CoViD 19 epidemic. She used to conceal her hair with a scarf, but now she wears the Sleazy Bun I crocheted.

crochet messy bunA2.jpg

I have included some crystals and I added two more rows of designs before I did the edging which further accentuated the beautiful powder blue color which is her favorite.


Materials:

  • Thread/yarn of your choice
  • coordinating hook to your yarn
  • tape measure
  • yarn needle

Adult sizes:
Small is 20-21 inches around, 8-8.5 inches tall.
Medium is 22 inches, 8.5-9 inches tall.
Large is 23 inches, 9-9.5 inches tall.


Row 1: Ch­20, join using a sl st being careful not to twist the chain (20)
Row 2: ch­2, dc in first st, 2dc in next repeat around, join to top of first dc. (30)
Row 3: Ch­1, sc in each st around. Join to top of first sc (30)
Row 4: Ch­2, dc in first two sts, 2dc in next repeat around, join to top of first dc. (40)
Row 5 Ch­1, sc in each st around. Join to top of first sc. (40)
Row 6: Ch­2, dc in first three sts, 2dc in next repeat around, join to top of first dc. (50)
Row 7: Ch­1, sc in each st around. Join to top of first sc. (50)
Row 8: Ch­2, dc in first four sts, 2dc in next repeat around, join to top of first dc. (60)
Row 9: Ch­1, sc in each st around. Join to top of first sc. (60)
stop and check sizing. It should fit crown of head (about 6.5” across when flat) and will increase as
length is added.

Row 10: Ch­2, dc in each st around. Join to top of first dc (60)
Row 11: Ch­1, sc in each st around. Join to top of first sc (60)
Row 12: Ch­2, dc in each st around. Join to top of first dc (60)
Row 13: Ch­1, sc in each st around. Join to top of first sc (60)
Row 14: Ch­2, dc in each st around. Join to top of first dc (60)
Row 15: Ch­1, sc in each st around. Join to top of first sc (60)
Row 16: Ch­2, dc in each st around. Join to top of first dc (60)
Row 17: Ch­1, sc in each st around. Join to top of first sc (60)
Row 18: Ch­2, dc in each st around. Join to top of first dc (60)
***stop and check length; it should be around 5.5” tall before brim is added
Row 19: Ch­2, fpdc around first post, bpdc around next repeat around, join to top of first fpdc.
Row 20: Ch­2, fpdc around first post, bpdc around next repeat around, join to top of first fpdc.
repeat round 20 if added length is desired
Row 21: Ch­1, sc in each st around. Join and fasten off. Weave in ends.


  • Notes:
    Ch - Chain
    DC - duble crochet
    SC - Single Crochet
    ST - Stitch
    FPDC - Front Post Double Crochet
    BPDC - Back Post Double Crochet

  • Meanings:

  1. The chain stitch (abbreviated ch) is the basis for all crochet. Almost every crochet pattern begins with a chain stitch. If you're working in rows, your first row is a series of chain stitches, which is not surprisingly called a foundation chain. source

  2. 'Double crochet (dc)' is the same stitch as the American 'single crochet (sc)'. Double crochet creates short and compact stitches. source

  3. The single crochet (abbreviated sc) is the most fundamental of all stitches in crocheting. The compact single crochet stitch creates a tight, dense fabric. source

  4. The Front Post Double Crochet is a method for making texture on the right side of your fabric. It is made by working into the row below, and pulls the fabric up and out on the right side, forming a bump in the fabric. It's a technique used in cables, ribbing, simulated stitches, and basketweaves. source

  5. Stitch st(s) = stitch(es) tog = together; this is sometimes used in place of dec(rease) where you might say something like "sc2tog" to indicate a decrease in single crochet stitch.

  6. The Back Post Double Crochet is a method for making texture on the right side of your fabric. It is made by working into the row below, and pulls the fabric up and out on the right side, forming a bump in the fabric. It's a technique used in cables, ribbing, simulated stitches, and basketweaves. source


I am just showing you how I spend my time when not writing my blog. Crochet is just one of my Do-It-Yourself pass times. If you want more details you can watch YouTube on how to crochet a beanie hat or messy bun.


I am inviting @jurich @sarimanok @mers to join this beautiful contest


About The Author

A feisty artist and a writer at the same time who intertwines and develops her time between blogging, writing poetry and fiction stories, crocheting, gardening, baking, and caring for her physically and mentally challenged son in order to explore the unexpected ideas that pique her interest.


#contest, #lifehackanddiscovery, #lifehack-steeming #discovery-steeming, #steemexclusive, #steeming-community.

Sort:  

Your diy crocheted messy bun is stylish, looks good on you and I bet all who wears what you made.

Thank you, Sis. for encouraging me to continue doing what I had been doing for years but had shelved. I'm having a lot of fun with it, and I even made my own designs.

 3 years ago 

Very creative ate. 😊 Very beautiful.

Thank you, bro, for visiting my post and for the appreciation as well.

Excellent.. Well done!

Thanks bro and for dropping by.

 3 years ago 

!zen 30

Contest entry verification:

RulesRemarks
1. set 30% post payout to steemingcuration
2. steemexclusiveSome sentences are not 100% unique but with proper sources.
3. posted at Steeming Community
4. at least 300 words
5. used of own photos or with source
6. contest post resteemed
7. commented the post link
8. invited at least 3 friends
9. tags used

Thank you so much for joining this contest. I wish you good luck!

 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 190%

On #2 Entry Verification, in a crochet pattern, we cannot expect unique sentences as we are just following complicated instructions. Thanks for the comment and accepting my entry.

 3 years ago 

Hmm I used to do that when my kids were still on high school. They were my models so I got many orders I surrendered. lol! Uso Kasi yong rusta hats ni Bob Marley with the Mj leaf.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59214.68
ETH 2622.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44