Fathers are not supermen

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20210622-062226.png

July 12, 2012 will always remain a memorable day. The day I realized that Fathers are not Supermen. I used to see Papa as my indestructible Superman. He played a mother and father role the moment mama died. I was told she died at child birth. After thirteen years of praying for the fruit of the womb, she didn't stay to see her first and last fruit.

Papa and I bonded the moment I was born. I would always reach out for him to carry me. It was an unusual bond between a father and daughter. He fed me, change my diapers and even tell me stories of cunning tortise every night before I sleep.

Screenshot_20210621-221300.png

It brought about rumors from people in the village. Some said I brought Happiness to Papa. Others said I was a child of circumstance. Still, there were those who claimed I was evil and I took Mama's life to replace her position in Papa's life.

I remember Papa and I sitting under the Udara(star apple) tree and he would tell me stories of how he was a stubborn child. He would stand by the road leading to the village water spring to flog young ladies returning from fetching water. Out of shock, their water pot will break which will lead to trouble knocking at the door of his parents. How I miss those days.

The days I loved most were those I followed Papa to his small farm where he grew cassava and corn. Those were the most cultivated crops in our small town. When I returned from the local community school one afternoon, Papa was already set to leave for the farm.

I hurriedly ate my food and changed into a simple dress. With Papa holding my hands, we left for the farm. I kept jumping happily and chattering the ABC'S I learnt at school. I was but a child and never had to worry about anything. Little did I know that there were dark days. And it began in that faithful day.

Screenshot_20210621-221305.png

On getting to the farm, Papa set to work while I run about the farm playing with butterflies and screaming out to birds that went on their business. My eyes travelled to a tree where bees had built their home. I took a stick and started destroying their home. Papa told me to stop for the bees did not like being Disturbed.

I left to continue playing with the butterflies. But when I was sure that Papa was engrossed in his weeding, I immediately began hitting the bee hive again. True to Papa's word, the bees became angry and attacked. I screamed loudly calling out for Papa's help. Papa immediately came running to my aid and covered me to prevent the bees from stinging me. The bees fed on Papa's body. He yelled and yelled continuously crying out in pains for help. He yelled for a long time but nobody came. I was simply crying under Papa's body. After a long time, Papa stopped crying. I heard the bees left.

I was relieved that Papa and I will leave. But Papa remain stilled on me. I called Papa but he didn't respond. I remained under papa till what seems like hours until I started hearing people's voice. They rolled papa out and carried me. There was blood everywhere.

They carried Papa and I home. People started gathering. That was when it occurred to me that Papa had died. I didn't know whether to cry. But I could hear someone shouting "Papa o". I'm not sure if it was me.

I was just 8 when it happened but I could feel the emptiness and impact of being alone. Papa was no Superman but he was my hero and June 12, 2012 still feels like yesterday.

If I get the opportunity to see Papa again, I will tell him that the poor little girl he left behind never found as much happiness as he gave her.

This is my story. Someday, I'll tell a tale of how stories are told.

I want to thank @fabio2614 for this opportunity

I will like to mention @eliany @dequeen @abijos to join this contest
Screenshot_20210621-221315.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

!zen 30
so sad...is this a real story?

Your entry has been approved. Your participation is highly appreciated. I wish you good luck!

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much ma'am. It is fiction, I played with my imaginations

 3 years ago 

Wow you really got me, glad its a fiction wish best of luck.

 3 years ago 

Thanks so much.

 3 years ago 

Helloo. I see you do not have our Steemingzen badge. It is very important for you to have it within this community. That is a proof of support from you to us, and that way we can deliver support to you. Most of contests within the community and given support are majority for Steemingzen members. If you want to become a Steemingzen, please check out this post:

https://steemit.com/hive-139293/@psicoparedes/7h6ffm-biweekly-steemingzen-badge-update-for-steeming-newcomers-have-you-got-your-badge-yet-or-or-actualizacion-bisemanal-de-insignia

It is not only to read and apply. You must have commitment. If you apply, you are committed to follow the community guidelines. Regards for you. Thank you for your comprehension. 😊

#onepercent #venezuela #affable

 3 years ago 

Thanks so much. I will do so immediately

 3 years ago 

Thank you 😄

 3 years ago 

Great entry, you got here!

 3 years ago 

!zen 30

Helloo, It is Alejandro. I just pass by to tell you that I have curated your post using Steemingcuration account. Keep up with the good work 😊

Notes: none.

 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 40%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63