CONTEST: Perseverance is a great teaching for life by @evegrace 30% to @steemingcuration

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

Oxford English Dictionary says perseverance is the Continuing in a course of action without regard to discouragement, opposition, or previous failure.

pexels-photo-768234.jpeg
Image Source

While I define perseverance as the ability for one to keep on pushing no matter the odds or obstacles they are faced with. The ability to keep on holding onto the thin line which is weak and ready to cut.



It takes one with discipline, self-control, and determination to keep on persevering even in the face of obstacles because we humans by default tend to give up so fast when we are faced with challenges.

There is one thing I am sure and that is there is no one that has not been faced with challenges and being able to stand the test of time during this trial period is what keeps you going.



I am a young lady who has been faced with challenges of life at a young age even though I wouldn't say I have seen all there is about life, I would say I have seen enough that would help and guide me in the journey of life.

My experience

I lost my dad at the tender of 15and would say, I and my family never saw that coming. He died just a few days into my Senior Secondary Class 2 resumption. The news got to us his family a few days after his death, everyone knew about his death but refuses to tell us (My mom, I, and two of my younger siblings) because they were afraid of how we would take it.

On a Sunday particularly, the news was broken to us by my parent's spiritual father and the rest of the people who knew about it and came to console us.



I just couldn't cry when I heard the news but one thing I was sure of us, my world has crumbled. My dad was the sole breadwinner of the family even though my mom was a businesswoman, she never contributed much financially to the family.

I and my younger siblings were attending a private school that cost close to a hundred thousand and I knew my mom won't be able to provide for our tuition fees.



I knew it was going to be hard on us all and I knew if I don't take responsibility for my life and my schooling, I wasn't going to finish my Senior Secondary Education which would later affect me in the future.

I decided to draw out of the private school and got enrolled in the public school. I usually thought public schools were free not until I got enrolled into one, I realized it wasn't as easy as I thought.

At a point in time, I was beginning to give up on furthering my education because of the hardship I was facing while going but seeing that if I don't make the right choice now, I would regret it.

pexels-photo-3077882.jpeg
Image Source

I was able to finish my class 2 successfully and then the real trouble came when it was time for our final papers. There was no money and everyone I told always told me there was no money and that I should drop out and start a business just maybe if I am buoyant enough, I can continue.

I knew that would be difficult to do, so I began doing menial jobs to cater for the money, but the money was still not enough.



One day, I decided to take chances, I went to meet one of my aunts from my maternal side who was a senior to my mom. I begged her for the money at first, but she said she had no money, I then told her to lend me and promised that once I finished my schooling and start working, I will refund her money.

She accepted to lend me the money with the promise that once I start school, my first salary will be her money. I accepted that and that was how I was able to pay for my exams fee and wrote my final papers.

Indeed, God saw my pains and I decided to bless me with a good result.



I kept on persevering not because I was a strong girl, but one of the reasons I kept on persevering is because I was the bright future ahead of me and knew I could either build or mare my future if I give up on school. Perseverance is the best key anyone needs if he or she is willing to survive the harsh beat of life.

Thank you to @SteemingCommunity for this wonderful contest. I invite @udygold, @peckypeace and @glotokens

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

!zen 30

I am very happy to be able to read these types of publications, it is good that you were able to continue your studies and even better, obtain excellent results.

 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 220%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60231.53
ETH 2321.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51