Steeming Community Contest | "Your Story" | Single Parenting Of An Overseas Worker's Children

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

Good day, Steemians, and thank you for being a part of this incredible #SteemingCommunity!

Today, I'd like to share with you a story of an Overseas Worker's children and a wife who assumed the roles of both father and mother.


image.png


I was in grade school when we become accustomed to not seeing our father because the FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization) has assigned him to Mexico. While our father was away, our mother assumed the roles of both father and mother in our home. Our mother is a strict and authoritarian grade school teacher. My mother began teaching me housework when I was six years old because she believes that when a girl marries, she should be able to maintain a home. Cooking, cleaning, and caring for my younger brother were all skills I learned.

Despite the fact that she employs housekeepers, she is a hands-on mother. She works on a lesson plan at night and gets up early the next morning to prepare for school. After we finished eating breakfast, our mother bathed me and my younger brother herself. When Mom and I go to school, our housekeepers look after my brother. That's how I grew up as a child whose mother raised her children on her own while her husband is working abroad.


I agree to be part of Steeming Community by committing to Proof of Support 30% beneficiary to @steemingcuration

I am inviting my friends, @sarimanok, @reginecruz, @antonette to join the contest.


About the Author

She is a writer who weaves and evolves her time between blogging, writing poetry and flash fiction stories, crocheting, gardening, baking, and caring for her physically and intellectually challenged son in order to develop the random ideas that quench her mind.


Thank you @fabio2614 for initiating this contest.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thanks for the invitation my dear. As for this kind of situation, I am one of them and I can relate to what your mom had undergone through. That's the kind of lifeI've had and it's not an easy task especially when the kids are sick. I can see that your mom did a good job!

 3 years ago 

It was a lonely life for the children with no Father figure around but as time passed by we understand why our father has to be away for such time.

 3 years ago 

Yes. Relate mga anak ko dyan sis.

 3 years ago 

mayaman na pamilya hehe

 3 years ago 

Bakit nyo po nasabing mayaman, Sir @long888
?

 3 years ago 

I really believe that what kind of person we are now,our mother really has the biggest contribution to it.
Your mother is great! Even if she was alone, she raised you right🙂

Your entry has been approved. Your participation is highly appreciated. I wish you good luck!

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much @fabio2614. God speed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64187.99
ETH 2761.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73