Steeming Charity in Action: Sharing Groceries to Families in Olango Island

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

20210501_183950_0000.png

A dream you dream alone is only a dream. A dream you dream together is reality.-John Lennon.

It's finally weekend and I have been anticipating for this day. We have planned for this activity for a week now. We have decided to have this program in an island near Lapu-lapu City. Finally we can make our plan a reality.

Today May 1 is Philippines Labor Day, its a holiday and perfect timing for this activity. Me and my co teachers/ steemians planned to share groceries to a couple of families in Olango island. Location.

IMG_20210501_111112.jpg

Unexpectedly because of the holiday the port was packed with tourist and locals. I was about to give up but thought of my purpose. So we patiently waited for more than two (2) hours just for us to ride the boat to the island. It takes only 8 minutes from Lapu-lapu City to the island through fast craft.

received_3886822474732874.jpeg

Waiting wasn't a burden because I was with very enthusiastic people, @traderpaw, @gilbertthegreat,@kyrie1234, @fabio2614 and @jmaxswivel. From 11 am we were able to arrive the island at 1:30 pm. With all honesty we were so hungry but God must be so good to us because @rosevillariasa and her husband @julyoosto prepared the scrumptious meal we could ever have. I was really grateful of the hospitality mam @rosevillariasa and her family showed to us.

IMG_20210501_133250.jpg

I am the happiest today coz I'm full and I'm ready to pack the groceries we bought. We didn't really have much but I know the little help we prepared for a couple of family will be a big help to the family we can share it with. I always believe that it's not the amount but the intention.

21-05-01-19-07-42-073_deco.jpg

IMG_20210501_142416.jpg

While packing there were kids so excited to watch what we prepared. They were also excited to get one themselves. Their pure smile makes me realize that simple things can make this kids so happy. Being able to receive food was already something to be happy of. It made me think that despite the fact that I have struggles to face in my daily life I would still consider myself blessed compared to most of the families here.

21-05-01-19-16-32-939_deco.jpg

Now we are ready to deliver what we packed. Since the groceries were limited we decided to choose the poorest among them. We wanted to give those who really need the most. So we started walking the neighborhood.

21-05-01-19-24-30-826_deco.jpg

21-05-01-19-25-57-892_deco.jpg

We visited 25 houses all in all. Handed the groceries to every family we think who is in need. Talked to some of the families. Listened to their sentiments and accepted their whole hearted thank you. At times I couldn't bear to stay long looking at some of the families we visited. I felt so bad that we can only give a little. It breaks my heart looking at the family who only have less. Young women carrying their babies at a young age. Children not having proper clothing and footwear. Parents only depend on fishing to survive. What else can I do but give what I only have. But despite the fact that they are in a difficult situation they are still so happy with what they have received from us.

IMG_20210501_152301-01.jpeg

The simplicity and joy radiated in every family and children's eyes. They were happy to receive such blessing today. We hope we can come back and give more to the people of Olango. To steemcurator01 who has been a great supporter to all of the charities I have conducted, from the bottom of my heart I thank you, may you be blessed more so you can help a lot specially those in need. I am happy to be an instrument in spreading kindness. I feel blessed and fulfilled accepting all the thank you from the people I have helped. I will never get tired of using my strength and energy to help.

Hope to see you again steemians!!

RGgukq5E6HBM2jscGd4Sszpv94XxHH2uqxMY9z21vaqHt2t5JmwVuj7JrZZeghcG49z8Xk8wR8EjCXwsd5tTR2V3CeQAyhPEp1xnbSQEv24shxM9X7FxVAokW8kE7jt.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

It was exhausting @bisayakalog, but its all worth it. Given a chance again I would still do the same.

 3 years ago 

True.. Hopefully we can do it again.. 😍

 3 years ago 

Yes...Soon :-)

 3 years ago 

Good job volunteer

 3 years ago 

Undoubtedly, you guys are doing a good job.

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much @boss75

 3 years ago 

Nice deal girls, very good job. It's been a nice team work from you. Those t-shirts are awesome, I had not seen them before. Keep up with that. Steem on. Saturday, May 01°, 2021.

#onepercent #venezuela #affable

 3 years ago 

Thank you @psicoparedes

 3 years ago 

never a dull moment mam ba😆

 3 years ago 

Yes hopefully we can do this again soon..😍

 3 years ago 

Sharing is a form of extraordinary care, very interesting posts @bisayakalog

 3 years ago 

Thank you @linhkar-photo

 3 years ago 

you wellcome @bisayakalog

count me in for more charity events

 3 years ago 

Thank you @gilbertthegreat lets do this again..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67