A Day to Remember

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

Good day Steemians,

It's yet another day for which I will like to share with you what I encountered few years ago in the streets of my community.

images (2).jpeg
image source

People were eager to celebrate New Year's Eve and wish their friends a happy New Year towards the end of December. I'd just arrived at my house and was on my way to my room. I was thinking about the upcoming year of 2018 as well as the one that was coming to an end.

I was lost in thought, and many painful memories from my past flashed through my mind. In July 2017, I was driving the same route back to my house when I was startled.

Do you have any idea why? Because I was seeing school-aged youngsters collecting garbage and begging. It was around 12:00 p.m., and I was at a shop looking for something to eat for our lunch when a small boy, perhaps 7 to 10 years old, approached me and said, "

"Brother, could you please give me GH¢5 so that I can buy some food? I have not eaten anything since yesterday till now."

"Do you have any brothers or sisters?" I inquired about him.

"I don't have siblings," the youngster said, his eyes welling up with tears. My dear father died before I was born, and my mother has been sick for about a month now. Because there is no one else in our family who can make money, neither my mother nor I had dinner last night. Because we are poor, there was nothing to cook. "

I was saddened to see the little boy with a dream buried in his eyes, and I was disappointed that we, as Ghanaians, appear to have forgotten our concern for others.

I also noticed more students carrying schoolbags coming from a local school at the time. They appeared to be well-dressed and well-fed, clearly from affluent families who seemed to be living blissfully and without a concern in the world.

Poverty, without a doubt, raises the crime rate in society and leads to other issues, such as child labor. The poor lack access to education, are malnourished, and do not have access to adequate healthcare.

Poor children are left in the lurch in the Northern region, as they are in many other sections of the country. Food is a basic need for everyone, and our government must meet this need by providing food for the poor. Furthermore, it is astounding and depressing that the Northern Region of Ghana, although being a resource-rich area, is a place where many people live in the dark, waiting for the light.

As a result, now is the moment for Ghana's leaders and government to assist children from low-income households, as they, too, have a right to a good education and a quiet existence.

Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.
Maria Robinson

In achieving this, we must be the change we want to see in the world.

Thank you for reading.

Invite:
@governor1
@wunitira
@kusibul

Sort:  

I'm touched by your story @abdulrazak1.Thank you for sharing

 3 years ago 

!zen 30

Hey! Congratulations your post has been selected by @alejos7ven to be upvoted by @steemingcuration account, thank you for create valuable content and contribute with the community being a Steemingzen, continue doing a great job! 🧑🏻‍⚖️
#onepercent #twopercent #affable
 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 240%

 3 years ago 

Touching story... did you give him food that day?

Contest entry verification:

RulesRemarks
1. set 30% post payout to steemingcuration
2. steemexclusive
3. posted at Steeming Community
4. at least 300 words
5. used of own photos or with source
6. contest post resteemed
7. commented the post link
8. invited at least 3 friends
9. tags used

Thank you so much for joining this contest. I wish you good luck!

Yes I did, and some times I pay them visit with some food items.

 3 years ago 

wow, that's humanity in action .. keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63