Steeming Community Contest| Throwback "Recollecting My Youthful Memories"

in Steeming Community3 years ago (edited)

A beautiful day to all steemian friends in this community!

As I was scrolling this morning, this contest of "sweet 16 memories" immediately caught my attention. Thanks to @fabio2614 for her bright ideas, we could not just reminisce our memories in the past but also share it with pride and contentment.

IMG_20210717_133354.jpg
For me, there can never be better memories compared to our own younger memories which signifies innocence, freedom and enjoyment.
Allow me to start sharing my sweet 16 memories through borrowing a line from the song of Paul Anka "How a young heart, how it really feels...this is not a puppy love". Sounds funny! But what I wanted to share today is my young love memories when I was 16.

IMG_20210719_093411.jpg
After my high school graduation, I was 16 that time, my parents allowed me to have a vacation of my father's hometown as my prize for I graduated with honors. It's an island here in Bohol, Philippines. I went there together with my cousins. It was a two-month vacation. Later then, I met a young guy same of my age that time. We became good friends and sooner became secret lovers for we did not tell anyone about us. We used to hang out together with our other friends and my cousins. After months of going out together my grandmother became very suspicious and confronted me. She told me if I was having an affair with him, it would be better to end it the soonest time for he is my distant cousin, which we did not know. Our grandparents were first degree cousin and it's a Philippine culture not to have any affair to our distant cousins or relatives.

IMG_20210717_142302.jpg
I was immediately sent to Cebu the following day after my grandma's confrontation without even saying goodbye to him. I can still imagine the sadness I felt that I was crying when I was in the ship on my way home. There was no telephone that time in Bohol so I could contact him. Months later, we wrote letters to each other but long distance love afffair did not work for us.

IMG_20210717_133324.jpg
Of course, I moved on. I went to college and met many good friends. I was doing good at school. Until I met a man who became my husband now. Two years ago, I and my husband went to my father's hometown. I met him with his wife and family and we are now friends. We just laughed of what had happened.

So that's my memories which made my past significant with lessons learned. Learn to accept, be obedient to elders, and continue do good even in difficult times.

I am inviting my friends; @kyrie1234, @mich103, and @morikin to join and share our cherish memories.

Truly,
abby0207


About the Author

Mabuhay ! abby0207 is a public junior high school teacher handling English in the Philippines. She makes sure to always have time with her children and shows dedication in her work. She values life and shares it through writing blogs to continue inspire others. Muchas Gracias!..

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

so cute mam abby

 3 years ago 

Hehe! Thanks Mam kyrie!

 3 years ago 

ka sweet dyud ni abby ...ambot maka hinumdum pa ba ko sa ako pagka 16.

 3 years ago 

hahaha! thanks Mam..

 3 years ago 

!zen 30

wow abby , such love story... young love sweet love...so you were crying when on board to Cebu😆

Contest entry verification:

RulesRemarks
1. set 30% post payout reward to steemingcuration
2. steemexclusive/uniqueness
3. created own post title
4. no. of words used462
5. used own photosown photos used
6. contest post resteemed
7. commented the post link
8. invited at least 3 friends
9. tags used

Thank you so much for joining this contest. I wish you good luck!

 3 years ago 

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 220%

 3 years ago 

hehe! thank you fabio2614 for recognizing my entry...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39