My Violin of 10 years

in Self Improvement3 years ago (edited)

On the 26th of October, 2011 my mum surprised me with a beautiful gift. It was something I have been yearning for because a friend of mine had already gotten it. It was a middle-sized violin. I was so grateful to her for buying me such beautiful gift even though I know she didn’t have the money. I think she bought it for 10,500 naira then now it is so very expensive.

I immediately found myself a teacher among the youth choristers in church who
0596FFE2-416E-4A86-A7C5-AC43CAC77133.jpeg
taught me and my friend for free. I learnt the basic and mastered with Christian hymns. I never moved further because even my teachers didn’t know the advanced level but I was so proud of myself and everyone that knew me then were proud of me.

I played in the orchestra but I was the only good one there among the violinists. I still don’t know why we didn’t have good teachers to train us then. Maybe they felt that the violinists weren’t important since they had the trumpeters, saxophonists and keyboardists.

In 2017, I stopped singing in the choir and that meant that I won’t be playing in the church orchestra again. It didn’t bother me then.

After my struggle with Bipolar disorder in 2018, I noticed that I had lost total interest in playing the violin. The vibe that comes with playing the violin wasn’t there again or was it because I don’t have a platform to play and re-train like a church choir. In 2020 , I tried joining the choir in the new church I am attending but all to no avail.

Right now I have given up on trying to develop the interest of playing the violin. I am trying to sell my violin of ten years and buy myself a guitar for my birthday.

What do you all think about it ?
Should I go ahead ?
Do you think it is a good idea?
@afunkycares @talktofaith @goodybest

Sort:  

There's nothing bad in switching to another interest of instrument, if that's what you now enjoy playing.

I'll advise you give it a shot dear, if playing guitar is more fun for you @teemira.

Awwwn thank you so much 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44