Traveling Edition||Contest||By:@vianneyspirit

in Steem Bangladesh3 years ago

Hi, 👋

Dear friends, I greet you all in the most precious and mighty name of our Lord Jesus christ , hope everyone is doing well as we are preparing to end the 2021 year. For today am so grateful to @abuahmad together with @Steem-bangladesh for organizing this beautiful and exciting contest for us. This contest has come at a right time because actually December is a month of traveling. Many people travel to different parts of the world to have their festive season and holiday in a new place.

So I believe the organizers were so inspired to to prepare this for us. Thank you so much friends may you receive great blessings from the almighty God.

FB_IMG_1634979445831.jpg

Every person loves visiting his/her grand parents and the elderly especially during the holidays. These visits are so important into the lives of people because according to the African culture and beliefs, they say

If one wants to be blessed let him| her visit the elderly and show them love. This will automatically come along with blessings.

So one time I traveled to Iganga district Idudi village in Uganda particularly to deliver some Christmas shopping to my grand mother. This Jaaja as we used to call her, she was so welcoming, caring with a pure love and heart. She used to stay in a small grass thatched house. Though it was too hot outside, when I entered into this small house as you can see in the photo above, it was very cold and calm!!

I asked my grand mother why the house was cold yet it was too hot outside, she smiled and replied,

The secret is in the grass at the roof, even if one wants to build for me a big made of cement and iron sheets I can not accept!! This house gives me peace, I don't need an air conditioner to cool down the temperature inside, after all the air conditioner uses power and we don't have any source of power in the area. So am so comfortable with this grass thatched house. Feel at home grand son 😂😂

On this visit I learnt many good things from my grand mother.

  • How to preserve food with out using scientific preservatives (By simply smoking it)

  • How to keep safe drinking water cold with out using a refrigerator. (Simply boil it and put in a water pot)

  • How to keep a latrine clean with out washing it with soap (Simply smoke it using dry banana peelings) this will help to kill the flies therein and also acts as air freshener.

Unfortunately my grand mother died a few months back, I miss her so much and I pray that God grants her with eternal peace.

I will live to remember my travel to her home and the so many good things that she taught me.

Regards to you all

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by @abuahmad, a Country Representative of Bangladesh. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the quality contents on steemit.


I invite you to join #club-5050 if you haven’t joined yet



Follow @steemitblog for all the latest update and
Keep creating qualityful contents on Steemit!

Steem On

You have been curated by @yohan2on, a country representative (Uganda). We are curating using the steemcurator04 curator account to support steemians in Africa.

Always follow @ steemitblog for updates on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59374.25
ETH 2544.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47