Contest Entry: My Failure Story

20210823_034451_0000.png
Source


💮


The silence that night was so loud, it throbbed in my ears. As if heightened by nocturnal shifts, the clock was the center soundtrack, next to my scrambled thoughts. I lay on my back, eyes looking without actually seeing.

My mind was very far from my room as my father's words played repeatedly.

"I don't think you're going to go very far in life," he'd said earlier that day, "because for something as simple as paying attention in class, writing your notes, doing assignments, reading, and passing, you're struggling so much."

And resumed hours of marking me all over with the wooden cane.

For a second, I'd thought that since I was in my final class before university, things would get better and I could be a tad bit smarter.
But I dared to dream too much and my reality hadn't changed. I was still declining at school.

It didn't matter that I'd asked other students and teachers to tutor me when they had openings. My father - like many others - had written me off. Save for my mum who would say, "I know you can do this, you just need to realise it yourself."

I couldn't go a day without someone mentioning my performance, mostly in mock concern. I wanted so badly to blink the pain away but life didn't work that way.

As if I couldn't get any worse, my self-esteem had taken a nosedive for the pits. I'd lost my sense of self and my new normal was anxiety.

Few years later, I'm reminded weirdly about that night. Perhaps because the silence is similar. My thoughts aren't quite in the room but they're at peace.

They say that certain events take place to accelerate character development. I suppose failing woefully in secondary school kick-started mine. Some part of me wished that my father had done things differently.

But like my mother, I realised I could do it - and I did. I still am.

The dark and weighty sadness no longer grips me. I may have been crippled by my inadequacy, but happy endings. Right?


💮


Sort:  

How sad Many parents are guilty of this, instead of building their children up they tear them down with their abusive speech. Thanks to your Mom who always believed in you. That someone is not doing well academically doesn't means he's a failure or won't make it in life.

Indeed. Thank God for people like her. I hope a re-orientation is staged for parental guidance.

Happy endings for sure.
Nice content RiRi🌺

Thank you Omarion

I agree with @goodybest, we have a lot of parents who are guilty of this. Recently I read a news of a man who refused to pay his mother's bills simply because she didn't believe in him, waht caught everyone's attention was the fact that he was extremely rich.

Wow... That's... Just sad.

parents play a vital role in the life of children but most parents don't know this.
Nice write up

Thank you dear.

Nice write-up

Looking forward to your next write-up @stepsbyelven💫

I'm glad you read them... I will definitely write more.

You have been upvoted by @abuahmad, a Country Representative of Bangladesh. We are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the quality contents on steemit.


Follow @steemitblog for all the latest update and
Keep creating qualityful contents on Steemit!

Steem On

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59073.90
ETH 2519.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48