Contest: Write a Short Story Taken From Your Life | Failure Edition | Prize: 12+ Steem | 5% To bd-charity

in Steem Bangladesh3 years ago

Hello friends, i will be participating in the contest of this short story

My Story

FB_IMG_16294874972769865.jpg

2017 was a very nice year. In December 2017, I was admitted to University of Ilorin to study Medicine and Surgery. I couldn't contain my joy as it was a very good achievement to tell. Family and freinds buzzed for me, everyone was proud. I was proud of myself too. Achieving one's dream makes you alive but it wasn't the case for me. The society killed me. I told a few people but a lot congratulated and praised me. I was confused how they got to know. Being called a Doctor already put me in pressure. I was only a naïve boy who was never comfortable with a lot of attention and affection. Fear of not crossing to the next level caught me. How do I face this judgemental society.

Fear is really the beginning of failure. I lived with fear, studied with fear and wrote examinations with fear. The football i have always loved, I didn't play. I worked to the best of my ability but it didn't work. I failed as feared. Saddened and depressed but I have always known that there are life challenges that Allah has ordained for individuals.I was not brave to tell people that I didn't make it through. I feared for my reputation. Told a few friends about it and thought they would spread the news. Parent and siblings didn't even tell their friends. Maybe because I failed them all and the disappointment they couldn't contain which I was deeply sorry for.

Though its been two years now. I still don't have the courage to face anyone and tell them but the fact that I still meet people who calls me Doctor or thinks I still study medicine makes me neurotic and causes me serious headaches and psychological disorder. If you are reading this now, I hope I still have my reputation intact and you still think I am great because I think I am more. I have a bigger dream and I am envious of what I would become in years to come. I am requesting from you to tell your friends that might not see this as it is really important to my state of mind. I am tired of cutting people off. I am already tired of staying away from people who loves me. I hope I don't fail you all again and i hope we don't talk about all these when we meet because I don't really like consolations. I also hope you don't show me affection out of pity.

I am not secretive but just very sensitive. Although, I don't smile much these days, became quite more quiet and had myself come down to earth core, I am still very shy, naive, humble, respectful and respectable. I am still your clueless little kid who goes from one street to another to play football with younger kids. I may be grown up with beards but I am not different from a kid who cries for teddy bears. I am telling you all these so that you don't have any expectations of the grown up me at the moment because I am also looking forward to what I would be like in years to come. I hope to find peace soon and I pray everyone get healed from whatever challenges we are facing and have all our prayers answered.

This Is my story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50