Contest: Write a Short Story Taken From Your Life | Success Edition | Prize: 10+ Steem | 5% To bd-charity

in Steem Bangladesh3 years ago (edited)

How I won the Miss Lawsa Pageant



DSC_0572.jpg

Today, I am going to share my motivation behind my little Success Story and I believe it inspires someone out there to take action and be a better version of themselves.

I have suffered from Low Self-esteem for the better part of my life. This made me doubt my abilities and who I am. I felt I was not good enough and maybe it was just better to live life like I was dead. However during the pendency of my second semester for this year's academic session, my friend showed me a flier for a pageant contest for Mr & Miss LAWSA 2021. I made a joke telling her I would contest. I was optimistic even though I knew I was 5'ft 4. I was up for a challenge!

On my first day of training, my performance was bad because I could hardly walk on heels and I could not maintain my pose. When I returned home. I downloaded some pageant videos. That night I practiced with my heels on how strike a pose, move graciously and confidently. I slept fulfilled.

The next day at rehearsals, my coach was impressed. One of my senior colleagues who had observed the session encouraged me. He told me I would go far in life by the time he was done talking to me it was about 8:52pm and indeed I went far in life because I had trekked home.

The following day, I strategized on how I was going to go about the Pageant. For, the remaining part of that week, I learnt the Efik Cultural Dance and choreography. Soon I earned a space in the front row!

Finally, on the day of the pageant, I gave my best. I was amazed at the massive support and cheers I got from the crowd. Things could never had been better. Smart and hard work paid off. Here I am today blazing the trail as Miss LAWSA 2021!

Photo credit goes to nechephotographix the official photographer for Mr & Mrs Lawsa Pageant

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49