Contest: Write a Short Story Taken From Your Life | School Edition | 15 Steem Prize Pool | 5% To bd-charity

Growing up as the only son of a renowned cop in my neigbourhood came with its thrills and baggage. I was three years old and in my nurseries at my then Methodist Nursery School, Akwa Ibom state, Nigeria, when I was reported dead! Indeed, a girl child who attended my school, was knocked down and killed by a drunk driver that day. Coincidentally too, this child happened to be the child of a policeman as well! But this child was certainly not me.

Hi Steem Bangladesh! I am delighted to share. My name is Saviour Robert from Nigeria, and this happens to be my first post ever on Steemit!

So, how exactly did I end up dead at age three, when I was in fact still alive?

In those days, I had this designated motorcyclist whom my parents paid monthly. He had come to pick me that day. But arriving my school, I chose going with my uncle whom I had not seen in a while. Typical of fake news, my death’s rumour had already spread like wildfire into my mum’s innocent ears, and the poor woman almost died before realising I was in fact still alive and safe at my aunt’s and uncle’s home.

Screenshot_20210619-213401.png

My poor mum, after roaming the streets of Uyo in search of me, finally arrived my uncle’s house as last point of call for her lamentation about how she has lost her only son. As she was wailing in uncontrollable agony, I emerged from the inner room! My mum grabbed me mid-air, and squeezed me in a fierce hug that almost cracked my ribs.

The lesson that day was that fake news kills and drink-driving is deadly. May the soul of the poor girl that died that day continue resting.

Screenshot_20210619-213432.png

Cc:

@stephenkendal

@pennsif

@abuahmad

Sort:  
Loading...
 3 years ago 

Please introduce yourself in the Newcomer's Community with a nice introduction post!

Please, @abuahmad , I would like some guide on how to go about that, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50