2nd contest "Steemit Weekly" - Describe Selected Habitat by hash96

in Steem Bangladesh3 years ago (edited)

Hello guys, hope you are doing well.🤗 I would like thank to @papi.mati for arranging this wonderful contest. I selected to write about pond habitat in my home garden. So, the location of this habitat is Matale ,Sri Lanka.
First of all, I'll tell you what is a habitat. Simply it can describe as ,the area or environment where a particular species of animal, plant or the organism normally lives. Then I’m going write about my garden pond habitat.

20210620_104610.jpg

It is a small body of freshwater that does not flow. This habitat consists of both biotic and abiotic factors and there are many interactions between them. Many kinds of fauna and flora inhabit in pond and this habitat provides shelter, food, space and water to them. Animals and plants that live in the pond have adapted their body to survive in the water.

Fauna
Guppy fish is the most common fauna inhabit in this pond. There were more than ten fishes but now there are only two. because others were eaten by birds that came to pond.

20210620_104346.jpg

Also, there are insects such as water sliders, may flies, dragon flies can observe in the water surface. Their body parts adapted to walk on the water surface without sinking. Often, some insects come to lay their egg on the surface. It means this habitat use to complete their life cycle.

Flora
They are the primary producers in this habitat. So, they adapted to photosynthesis in water.
Water lilies, Salvinia, water hyacinth and lettuce are the major aquatic plants in this habitat.Some plants spread out quickly in the pond. So, some of them are kept separate due to lack of space. Lettuce and Salvinia are free floating on the water and their feathery roots help them to float.

20210620_185652.jpg

Leaves of the water lilies float on the surface and its large surface area gain more sunlight for photosynthesis.Water hyacinth free floating on the water surface by it hallow bulbous stem.

20210620_190057.jpg

Also, these aquatic plants have smooth /shiny surface to reduce transpiration and hairy surface trap air to obtain light weight for maintain buoyancy. This pond has low depth. So, plants can get sufficient sunlight for their photosynthesis process. This is how flora adapted to survive in their habitat. When I observed this habitat, I could see large area is covered by algae. And also, this pond has fishy odor due some algae.
I had a practical session at the university to identify microorganisms by microscope. For that I took a water sample from pond in home garden. From that I was able to find out there are many kinds of microorganisms (algae ,crustaceans etc) inhabit in the pond. Below are some pictures taken during that practical.

20210620_190503.jpg

This pond is a small habitat but thousands of microscopic species inhabit in here. The support of all those who live in there is needed to maintain the habitat well. Eg;- Animals provide Carbon dioxide to plants for their photosynthesis process and plants provide nutrients , shelter and oxygen to animals who live in the pond.
This is all about little habitat in my home garden. This is more wonderful habitat than it looks from the outside. Thank you for reading this. Stay safe.❤

"I consent to the publication and distribution of my article in the electronic and paper versions of "Steemit Weekly"and in all social media."

Note : I wrote this with knowledge I learned at the university.( I'm following a freshwater &marine sciences realated degree program )

Sort:  

Great job! 👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽

Please paste the link to your publication under the post with contest rules. That way it's easier for me to find it in the day when I will be selecting the winners :)

 3 years ago (edited)

Okay .thank u 🤗I wrote this with the knowledge I learned on university. My degree program is related to freshwater & marine sciences

Great! That makes it even more valuable!

NASI Community (2).jpg
We invite you to take part in a contest that we hold in the NASI Community. Visit our community page and don't forget to "Subscribe" and join the Discords NASI Community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53