Contest: Write a Short Story Taken From Your Life | Nostalgia Edition//@adaumunna// 22/10/21

in Steem Bangladesh3 years ago
Hello @steembangladesh, I hope you had a fantastic day. I am excited to share my contest entry below. It is a sort of reflection, yet nostalgic.

INTRODUCTION

Born out of a family of 8, I am the 5th child and only female child of my parents. My Dad died when we were really young, and I was just 7years old around that time. My mother being a single parent, had to fend for us all, doing four jobs during weekdays and on weekends just so that she could meet up certain bills such as school fees, rent, feeding, amongst others.

She boiled the ocean just to afford us an everyday life.
Dad, until his death, had a massive flair for education, and my mom swore to do her best to ensure my other siblings and I got enrolled in school, gained a quality education and achieved the best consistently. We suffered a lot in terms of feeding, health, good living and many more.


7C8544DE-DB1B-4AF0-9835-EEEB23D1B707.jpeg

There was a time mum told a brief story on how she met Dad. She said his smile reminded him of heaven, of all the bright lights in the night, and of the good fortunes life had in store for us. I am proud to say that we have four graduates in the family, myself inclusive, so when I ponder a lot about how many sacrifices she has made, it gives me hope for a better tomorrow.

Today, everything good has come. I am a freelance editor working with a few blogs, including steemit . It’s not perfect yet, however, it gets better for me.


2801CEED-D5DA-4D94-BFDF-E3F4EF34094C.jpeg

CONCLUSION

Thinking about where I am coming from ignites a spark in me. I am grateful and fueled to do more with my life. The truth is, I don’t know where I am going from here, but I believe I have an exciting life ahead of me.
My mom trained and nurtured us all in love, happiness and contentment. Looking back, this is one of the virtues that upheld me to this day.

Sort:  

Wow! I love your nostalgic story dear. Your mom is a very strong woman she did everything just to fulfill the wishes of your dad that all of his children will e educated and can finish a degree. I am so happy for you and your family.
Your mom is truly an epitome of what a Great mother would be.
More power to all your future endeavors. Happy to meet you here in Steemit.

Thank you so much ma’am

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75