MUSIC FOR STEEM WEEK 15 - @cmp2020 “And So It Goes”

in Music For Steem 🎵4 years ago

Hello everyone! I have decided after much debate this week to continue posting performances for Music for Steem. I've been in it since the beginning, and it is a great outlet for a young musician. For those of you who may have missed my last post, Emma and I have agreed to break up, and will no longer be recording songs together. This begins a new chapter in my Music for Steem repertoire which will probably include more classical music (though I will still try to do a variety of music). I also may begin to make recordings with some of my other friends who are gifted musicians since I am now able to see other people again. I will try to have some guests for these recordings if they would like to sing with me!

Why And So It Goes?

This week has probably been one of the harder weeks I have ever had. I am so blessed though that I have so many loving friends and family. I immediately sought advice, and managed to stay productive during this time because of all of the support I had. I have been writing poetry and music to cope, and may post it someday, but I will probably do it further down the line when I have more material not related to the breakup (I don't want this account to just become post after post about heartbreak). However, I chose this week's song based on how I felt. I do want to feel like there is some kind of conclusion to Emma and my recordings, and I don't think Once Upon a Dream was necessarily the best conclusion. I have always known and loved the song I chose, but this experience has given it such a new meaning to me. The song is called And So It Goes, and it is probably one of Billy Joel's simpler works, but it is incredibly moving! I will include the (incredible) lyrics and then my performance:

In every heart there is a room
A sanctuary safe and strong
To heal the wounds from lovers past
Until a new one comes along

I spoke to you in cautious tones
You answered me with no pretense
And still I feel I said too much
My silence is my self defense

And every time I've held a rose
It seems I only felt the thorns
And so it goes, and so it goes
And so will you soon I suppose

But if my silence made you leave
Then that would be my worst mistake
So I will share this room with you
And you can have this heart to break

And this is why my eyes are closed
It's just as well for all I've seen
And so it goes, and so it goes
And you're the only one who knows

So I would choose to be with you
That's if the choice were mine to make
But you can make decisions too
And you can have this heart to break

And so it goes, and so it goes
And you're the only one who knows

Conclusion

Thank you all for your support! I am very grateful to Emma for all of the recordings she has made with me! I am certain they will always mean a lot to both of us (as well as our families), and for that I am really glad! I am going to continue to use the same playlist so that it continues to get longer and longer! If you are interested, here is a link. I'll see you all later!

Sort:  

It's always nice to know that in not-so-good situations, we have loved ones who are there for us. You are an excellent pianist and you sing very well! Give time to time, it is wise and will put you both where you need to be. Greetings!

This is sad about the breakup, I can understand you perfectly because I went through the same thing, he and I made a good team with music, he played the piano too, our plan was to record together for musicforsteem, but the break came and that's why I did been doing alone. But everything happens for some reason, the world goes around a lot, maybe you will be together again, or maybe you will find someone better, you are a great boy, very talented and very cute, come on

up that moods :)

love your performance

you sing very well

@cmp2020 Thoughts need words. Words need a voice. Great!

i really missed you friend , i was waiting for your post , i was seriously waiting for it. Hope you win this time...!

Take a good rest but we will be waiting for you to come back. Music is thereuptic and healing for one. I look forward to listening to your performance again.

Great to hear you playing again. First time hearing you sing - works well - good balance between your voice and the piano.

Looking forward to more...

Thank you from the Steemit Team

I never thought you could sing so well😱....you're good a musician!

@mesonia
😘

Cheer up friend, life will put obstacles for you, you will have the courage to overcome them, I think you will overcome it, you are an amazing singer and pianist, so I give you all my support and praise, successes friend.

@cmp2020 this is the first time I'm listening you.. trust me you are brilliant with your voice as like as your keyboard playing.. loved it ❤️🎸

Hey @cmp2020 actually you can sing.. good to see you sing, not bad, and I'm sorry about you and Emma. I hope you both will make it up someday, you both look good together, I believe if you both are meant to be together, you both will make it to the end of this lifetime and beyond. Enjoy all the experience be it unpleasant or pleasant as they all teach us something in life as to grow our soul. Hugs to both of you going through this 🤗

Thanks for inspiring me to play piano again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01