Music for Steem: Puccini's O mio babbbino caro performed by @zzoebeee accompanied by @cmp2020steemCreated with Sketch.

in Music For Steem 🎵3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! Zoe and I got together again today to record some music for Steem (pun intended). Today we were really fortunate because Gustavo (from @bebethlehem) offered to help us film using some of the church's equipment. As a result, I will be donating 15 percent of this article's rewards to the church account. I'm really excited to share this piece, so here are the lyrics and the recording we made. After the video, I will have some information about the hat I'm wearing, and some background information:

Lyrics (source) and Recording

ItalianEnglish
O mio babbino caroOh my dear papa
Mi piace, è bello, belloI like him, he is so handsome.
Vo’ andare in Porta RossaI want to go to Porta Rossa
A comperar l’anello!To buy the ring!
Sì, sì, ci voglio andare!Yes, yes, I want to go there!
E se l’amassi indarno,And if my love were in vain,
Andrei sul Ponte Vecchio,I would go to the Ponte Vecchio
Ma per buttarmi in Arno!And throw myself in the Arno!
Mi struggo e mi tormento!I am pining, I am tormented!
O Dio, vorrei morir!Oh God, I would want to die!
Babbo, pietà, pietà!Father, have pity, have pity!
Babbo, pietà, pietà!Father, have pity, have pity!

I also added subtitles in English and Italian to the YouTube video.

Zoe's Etsy

I recently purchased a custom made hat from Zoe, and decided to wear it in this recording. I think it came out fabulous (it is a frog eating a cookie), and so I wanted to advertise Zoe's Etsy. She makes some incredible custom made items crocheting, and I invite anyone interested to check out her Etsy.

Background of the Piece

Source about aria
Source about opera

This opera, entitled Gianni Schicchi was written as a one act comedy meant to be performed alongside other one act operas by Puccini. The opera's plot is centered around the will of Buoso Donati. The family gathers in his bedroom around his body, and discusses the will (which they can't find) each obviously hoping to be included in the inheritance. One relative says that they heard that Schicchi left his fortune to a monastery, and terrifies the other family members who frantically search for the will. It is Rinuccio who finds the will, and he is certain that when they open it, he will be included in the inheritance from his uncle, and asks for permission from Zita to marry Lauretta who is the daughter of Gianni Schicchi, a peasant newcomer to Florence. Zita says yes if Rinuccio has inherited the money.

When they read the will, they learn that Donati did in fact leave his fortune to a monastery. Because he has not been included in the inheritance, Rinuccio is informed that he is not allowed to marry the daughter of a peasant (that being Gianni Schicchi). Schicchi picks up on what is going on, and announces he will have nothing to do with the family because of the way they are treating him. This aria, O mio babbino caro, is his daughter Lauretta's plea to her father for his blessing.

Previous Recordings

Handel's O care selve (5/20/2021)


Conclusion

Thanks for reading this! A special thanks to @zzoebee for making this beautiful recording with me, and many thanks to the church for allowing us to use their facilities and equipment! Make sure to check out the @bebethlehem account later tonight for another performance by Zoe, and a post about this week's service! Please remember that feedback is always appreciated, and have an amazing day!

Sort:  

@zzoebee , you are really gifted. This piece got me so emotional. (Tears of joy). May God bless you 😇. Thank you cmcp2020 for all that you have done for @zzoebee

Great music, and a great hat !

Hope to see @zzoebee posting soon.

@steemcurator01, i didn't know that you are also a fan of @zzoebeee and @cmp2020... its awesome knowing that you also show interest on their music.

Hello, you have a spectacular voice, excellent pronunciation, although you gave it a lot of strength and character, I would like to hear it more nuanced, more subtle, it must be remembered that she is making a request, a plea, I also liked the accompaniment.
Congratulations.

Wow, this is heavenly.. you started with a good intro.
The instrumental sounds mixed well with the vocals from her.. nice one..

And the frog hat is cool

🌺 beautiful, he gives so much peace his voice... and their perfect accompaniment. 😍

Waooo esta aria de opera es de mis favoritas! Felicitaciones Espero ver tu próximo post

Excellent, beautiful voice.

Guao que nivel, me encanta la opera y gracias al maestro @edmundocentenor me inicie en todo este mundo, la verdad que lo has hecho espectacular, felicidades por esta hermosa interpretación que ha hecho volar mi imaginación y recordar todos esos momentos hermosos que he vivido en el mundo musical.

very very good voice, music and lyric

I just love you guys so much,left alone to me,this song would be song of the year to me, i think that the hat is really really cool, i have resteemed the post , thank you very much for such a music, you guys are stars, if i were to meet you one day,I'd love a picture with you , i too do music but mostly instrumental music, you can check out my link for an entry i just recently did on #musicforsteem
I Love You @zzoebeee and @cmp2020

below is my link
https://steemit.com/hive-137433/@rexiano/music-for-steem-i-have-to-let-go-by-rexiano

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62932.98
ETH 3353.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47