Betterlife - The Diary Game | 12 September 2021 | My First time Voting in an Election | 20% to @steemit-pak by @teakay23 by teakay23

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN3 years ago

My First time Voting

Greetings fellow community members, today I will recall my experience of casting a vote in any type of election for the first time in my life. These were the Cantonment Board Clifton Elections. I was quite excited but it turned out to be a rollercoaster of a ride.

NOTE: This is NOT a political post. The purpose of this post is purely for entertainment and only to share my experience, rather than any political opinion. All statements towards any political entity are satirical.

With that out of the way, let's begin our story. So to be honest with you guys, I almost did not participate in this election. It's not because I didn't have any clue what the candidates stood for and who to vote for (which I honestly did not know). It was because the previous day, I got the 2nd dose of my Moderna COVID-19 vaccination. And let me tell you, that shot put me out of commission for the day. I didn't have the strength to get out of bed. My dad was about to drive away to the polling station when suddenly, I realized the weight of my responsibility to vote. The will to partake in democracy and have a hand in the future of my country (or my local cantonment), forced me to leap out of bed and get ready. Or that's the romanticized version, I just didn't wanna miss the opportunity of a new experience.


Well, we got to the polling station for Ward-10 which was DHACSS High School. And it felt as if I was in the Saddar mobile market. Every party's welcoming camp wanted the new young voter under their tent. Between all the "Sir idhar sir, tarazoo pe mohar lagaye", "Teer ko mat bhoolye" and "Ballay ko vote do", I was overwhelmed and quite frankly confused as to what I was supposed to do. So I just went to the nearest camp to get my ticket and to know which polling booth I was supposed to vote in. Which turned out to be the camp of the party of the multiple P's.


But just like their performance in government, they ignored the needs of a Muhajir and gave me the wrong polling booth number. I went inside the school building and it turns out, the polling booth 15 was for women only. I searched the whole building for men's 15 but to no avail. Now I know I look somewhat androgynous, but my NIC clearly states "Man" and this was an injustice I was not willing to forgive. So to get justice, I went over the "mulla" camp, admittedly somewhat cautiously, and got the correct ticket from the Tarazoo gang. (Get it? as in Tarazoo stands for justice.)


Now it was finally time for me to play my part in democracy. Out came the ballot paper and I realized, the ballot paper did not have names of the candidates on them, only their symbols or "Intakhabi Nishan". And my "zero metre" brain only thought to look up the name of the candidate rather than her symbol. Therefore, I quietly went behind the private polling booth and stamped on the sign that looked the best to me artistically and aesthetically.


And that was that. I returned home to my whole family curious about who I voted for and me not knowing what to answer. So I hid behind the classic "I am not supposed to reveal who I voted for" line, and buried my face back in my pillow to stave off the vaccine side effects.


Achievement 1

Thanks to Steemit Pakistan for all the support !
Mentioned especially,

@haidermehdi
@vvarishayy
@event-horizon
@hassanabid
@steemit-pak

Steemit Pakistan Footer 1.png

Subscribe STEEMIT PAKISTAN

Quick Delegation Links To earn delegation rewards

50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP400 SP500 SP
1000 SP1500 SP2000 SP3000 SP4000 SP5000 SP
Sort:  
 3 years ago 

It was a helluva day for you lol.
I also got the message for my second dose vaccination, will go this Sunday In Sha Allah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64