Reasons why you love or hate winter season | club75

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN3 years ago (edited)

Reasons why you love or hate winter



The village where my parents-in-law live. Polish winter 20012 or 2013

Although I'm a Pole, I'm living currently in the southern hemisphere, in Argentina, which means that when there is a winter in Poland or Pakistan, I am experiencing hot summer with 39 degrees. Let me put it in the context - 39 degrees in Poland you can feel only when you put your head in the oven because naturally that sort of temperatures are not experienced there. Our summer is hot when we have 30-31 degrees outside. When it reaches 34, it's the number one topic in all media and when it goes up to 36 degrees, people are starting to talk about the end of the world :)


Rabsztyn (51).JPG

The castle in Rabsztyn, Poland. Trip with our dog, Bestia

Same with the winter. In Rosario, Argentina, the only snow I could find was in my freezer and winter is chill, but not freezing cold - maybe 10 - 12 degrees during the day and 6-8 at night, which is still kinda uncomfortable when someone (me) instead of investing in the heater, decided to buy new board games to play with friends and a family. Poland on the other hand is terribly cold. Now, due to global warming may be a bit warmer, but still - when I walked with my father a week ago, he mentioned about -20C... Minus. Twenty...



Did I mention that I do love snowboarding? No? Well, I do!
Here, from the left: my father, uncle, and me, as a teenager. I'm 14 y.o. here (I know, I'm tall)


I remember from my childhood tons of snow - half a meter, meter - you name it, I probably experienced it. We used to make the snowmen and igloo each winter with my brother and honestly, we never finished one because when parents were not looking at us, we were taking off the hats and scarfs and in the effect, we were getting sick instantly. Yeah, we were kinda 8 y.o. rebels.



I'm 5 years old here and that's the ugliest Santa Clause I've ever seen since then :)) My kindergarten

So when you ask me if I like or dislike winter (and why), the answer is easy - I love it. Maybe because I am half-naked while writing this post and yet, I'm still boiling and dreaming to take off my skin. Maybe in six months, googling "cheap heater, Rosario" I would not be so excited when writing about winter... The other reason is that I haven't seen the snow for 5 years and as a vivid memory from my childhood, I remember it as a pleasant thing. Maybe if I would still be living in Poland and instead of making the igloos I would have to remove the snow from the backyard and deal with canceled public transport, I would have a different answer, but - considering that I am living in subtropics and I miss the Polish winter, I will keep answering "yes, I do love winter".



Tatra Mountains - the coldest part of Poland. Here the snow is nearly the whole year.
Photo made by me in... dang, I don't remember... 2014 maybe.

I do love winter because:


  • when it's too cold, we can always wear more clothes while where it's too hot even being naked does not help (also, being it three sweaters on the street is socially acceptable, while being naked would result in arresting me :P)
  • when it's cold, people are cuddling, it helps to keep the intimacy, while when it's too hot my answer for the hugs is always the same: "please, don't touch me, I'm boiling"
  • snow, especially in December, looks magical, gives me that Christmas vibe, but also brings back the childhood memories
  • I do love hot chocolate or cocoa, the fire in the fireplace, and a nice book and that does not work with the heat outside
  • Assuming that winter is now, it comes with all that celebrations: new years eve, my birthday which I had a month ago, valentines day et cetera)



One more as the teenager. It clearly shows that winter is fun! :)

Finally, there is one more advantage of winter that I will experience in the future. My plan is to become a permaculturist, which means basically a more environmental-friendly farmer. Being a farmer, in spring we are planting things, in summer take care of our garden, in autumn we are harvesting and winter... winter is the time of the relax when everything is ready, supplies prepared so we don't have to do anything for a while.






My Achievement 1

Sort:  

I enjoyed reading your childhood memories and looking at the pictures. Winter is not like that anymore as we saw in our childhood.

 3 years ago 

Argentinian Winter sounds like Karachi's winter - not too cold.


Thank you for participating in our #weekly-engagement challenge.

 3 years ago 

Based on the entries of other Steemians that I managed to read, I assume northern Pakistan is more like Poland - colder and with snow

 3 years ago 

Yes, we have all variety. 😁

 3 years ago 

Oh wow! I've never actually seen snow ever in my life. Can imagine how wonderful your memories from your childhood must be of playing in the snow.

 3 years ago 

It's truly great. Unfortunately, in one or two generations there may not be snow at all - year by year there is less and less of it. Nowadays the average layer of snow is up to 5 cm, in my childhood (20-25 years ago), it was half a meter - ten times more than now. Global warming affects us all, some places more than others.

 3 years ago 

One of the best entries we received. Wishing you happy winters in advance.

Thank you for participating.

Entry Approved!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58186.66
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37