Drawing of the dino, tribute to my childhood by @papi.mati

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN3 years ago

Intro


Most of the small Polish boys from my generation wanted to become one of four professions:
a) an astronaut
b) a policeman
c) a fireman
d) an paleontologist

I was in the fourth group, crazed about the dinosaurs. Dinos were everywhere in my room - I had books about them, CD with electronic encyclopedia (yeah 90's... 🤣), posters on the wall... Favourite movie? Jurassic Park, favourite toy? Plastic Tyrannosaurus Rex, favourite series? Power Rangers because they change for the dino machines...

I remember once even started to write the book about dinosaurs. Basically I was checking the huge paper encyclopedias, page by page and rewriting everything what was dino related. Half of that was the terminology I didn't even understand, but I didn't care 😉

I also enjoyed playing that I am paleontologist and discovering new species. I even was finding the bones, although it was mostly cow's corps because we had cattle slaughterhouse on the street. Now, when I am thinking about it, I'm amazed how unhygienic it was.

It shows how different reality 20-25 years ago was: now the slaughterhouses in Poland cannot be closer than 2 km to the nearest town because of the sanitary, they cannot also throw away the bones instead of utilizing it, small kids don't have paper encyclopedias and CDs with electronic versions because we all have internet and Wikipedia, finally children instead of astronaut or paleontologist want to become Instagram influencer or have their own YouTube channel with Minecraft streaming.


Drawing tribute


As the tribute to small me, I decided to draw the picture of Diplodocus looking at the asteroid which comes to end his life. I think it worked out neat:

IMG_20210723_133923.jpg

I inspired with some photos found on Internet, but draw the picture totally on my own. First I have made the dino, then created the first and second scenery, finally finished with drawing the stars and an asteroid. All work took me maybe half an hour. Photos of the process below:



And the final effect once again:


selfie camera makes "the mirror effect", so my diplodocus looks in another direction than in other photos


Thank you for reading,
@papi.mati

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You just reminded me of Ross Gellar.

 3 years ago 

Hahah, good - I loved Friends :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43