The Diary Game | Jul 08 - Jul 14, 2022 | Eid-ul-Adha Week

in STEEMIT PAKISTAN2 years ago (edited)

We came back home from the trip only to get ready for another journey the next day to our hometown. Eid-ul-Adha was around the corner and we always celebrate it with my in-laws. My father-in-law had already bought two goats for sacrifice, one for them and the other for us.

The inflation is insane in Pakistan, buying a healthy goat and traveling back home cost us over 2000 STEEM which is close to bankruptcy.


The fatigue from the trip wasn't gone yet and I had to re-pack for another week for the next journey to my hometown. We hit the road again the next day early in the morning. The plan was to leave early to avoid the heat of the day as much as we could. Therefore, we just had cookies and tea for breakfast and left home at 6:30 am in the morning.

IMG_20220717_141548.jpg

We timed our first stop at the Bhera rest area so that we could have proper breakfast there. We reached there at 9:30 am and went straight to McDonald's as I was craving their breakfast.

We ordered two Big Breakfast Deals and some brownies for kids. The food looked less in quantity but it made us too full. It was delicious like always.

We wanted to order Happy Meal for the kids but they had pancakes for breakfast which my kids don't eat. So they got brownies only.


We didn't make a stop again and reached our hometown at around 2 pm in the afternoon. Kids were happy to see their grandparents and so were the grandparents.

There is no proper place to keep animals in the home so my father-in-law kept those somewhere else. My husband took the kids to show them goats.

IMG_20220717_142533.jpg

IMG_20220717_142515.jpg

They were excited to see the goats. Both of them claimed one goat for themselves.

I remember as a kid, we used to start asking our father to bring the goat home so that we could spend time with it. Keeping animals wasn't allowed where we lived but this rule was lifted for Eid-ul-Adha. Everyone used to buy their animals as the month of Zil-Haj started and so did we. By the time of sacrifice, we used to get so attached to the animal that it left us heartbroken after the sacrifice. But then our parents used to console us by telling the story of Ibrahim (A.S) and his sacrifice. Later, the distribution of meat among the poor who never get to eat meat the rest of the year, made us feel contended.


My kids are young, they don't understand the concept much. However, I try to tell my eldest child the concept and history of Islamic traditions.


On Eid day, after the sacrifice, my husband and father-in-law divided the meat into three portions. One for home, one for friends/relatives, and one for the poor.

IMG_20220717_151135.jpg

I cooked some meat for lunch while my husband distributed the meat packets rest of the afternoon.


The next day, my sister-in-law was visiting so we planned to have a BBQ on the rooftop. I prepared the mixture of seekh kabab from the minced meat of goat and marinated chicken for malai boti. There was no beef this Eid, otherwise, chappal kababs are also a must and my favorite.

My husband and brother-in-law took the charge of setting up and burning coals.


That was all about Eid. On the way back home, we decided to stay a night at my parent's. Because we don't know when we will meet again.

It was just a two-hour drive which we enjoyed a lot. As the weather was really pleasant outside. It rained a lot. It doesn't rain much in Pakistan so whenever it rains, we enjoy it to the fullest.

I captured a few pictures of the lush green fields and the sky which was turning dark and the raindrops on my window.

There was a 10-meter patch where the visibility turned zero. There was a dust storm just a few minutes before the rain which made us stop the car at the side but thankfully the rain made everything clear.

IMG_20220713_153620.jpg


We had late lunch with my parents and gossiped till late at night.

The next morning, we left for our home. It was a long 7 hours drive which we completed in more than 9 hours. It wasn't a good day. First, we had a problem with the car. We had to go off-track to get the work done at a workshop. It took a lot of time.

Then after half of the journey, my eldest child suddenly got a fever and I also started feeling pain in my throat. Fortunately, the kids slept throughout. I got a hot cup of coffee to soothe my throat and enjoyed the view outside in silence as we moved towards the north.

We were a kilometer away from home when my sick child vomited in the car and from that moment we had all been down.

It's the third day since we got back home and today I have a bit of energy to move around the house. There's still a lot of unpacking that needs to be done. I better end this post here and clear up the suitcases.


event-horizon
#club100

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Inflation is really big issue now a days, you are right. May Allah accept our sacrifices.The malai boti and chappli kababs are yummy, weather is so nice to eat such delicious dishes.

 2 years ago (edited)

Thankyou for Posting in Steemit Pakistan.

CheckAction
#Club100
Burn Steem 25
Steemexclusive
Number Of Words872
Number Of Upvotes33
Number Of Comments1
 2 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by The Team Industrious Seven using @steemcurator06. We are supporting quality posts, so keep creating quality posts to get more support. #thediarygame

SteemexclusiveClubUpvote(%)bot use
Yes#club10050No

Account Used by: @chant

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90